Karine Polwart: Karine Polwart's Scottish Songbook

Karine Polwart: Karine Polwart&
Title: Karine Polwart's Scottish Songbook
Label: Hegri
Product Type: VINYL LP

Award-winning songwriter and folk singer Karine Polwart reimagines a clutch of beloved songs that cut across fifty years of Scottish pop. Eighties classics from Deacon Blue, The Waterboys and Big Country sit alongside the stadium balladry of Biffy Clyro, while maverick legend Ivor Cutler rubs shoulders with the electro pop of Chvrches and the immaculate song craft of John Martyn. Recorded at Chem 19, Karine Polwart's Scottish Songbook features regular band mates Steven Polwart and Inge Thomson, with Graeme Smillie (bass and keys), Calum McIntyre (kit and percussion) and Louis Abbott of Admiral Fallow (vocals, guitar & percussion). Karine says, "To me, these are songs of resilience and resistance, cries of despair and dreams of something better. They're pop songs, but also love songs to people and places we all recognise. They totally fill my heart up'. For fans of: The Staves, Gillian Welch, Lucy Rose, Julie Fowlis, Cara Dillon, Lisa Hannigan

1.1 Whole of the Moon
1.2 From Rags to Riches
1.3 Dignity
1.4 Since Yesterday
1.5 Swim Until You Can't See Land
1.6 Chance
1.7 Mother We Share
1.8 Don't Want to Know
1.9 Whatever's Written in Your Heart
1.10 Machines
1.11 Women of the World

Karine Polwart: Karine Polwart's Scottish Songbook

Regular price Sale price $25.74 $27.98
Product-type:VINYL LP
Tax included.

Recently viewed