Handel, G. / Rosemary, Joshua / Jacobs, Rene: Saul

Handel, G. / Rosemary, Joshua / Jacobs, Rene: Saul
Artist: Handel, G. / Rosemary, Joshua / Jacobs, Rene
Title: Saul

The hmHeritage series offers a new lease on life to the major productions that have established the reputation of the harmonia mundi catalogue: operas, oratorios, extensive cycles, and large-scale projects of every kind are presented in full to ensure this precious legacy remains available. Although oratorios are not intended to be staged, Handel's Saul is something of an exception - for one thing, it contains extremely precise stage directions which were printed in the wordbooks distributed at performances. Hence audiences at the first English oratorios could construct a form of mental theatre, aided by Handel's dazzling musical depiction of the action: as we listen, we can see Goliath's gigantic strides, the course of the Jordan, or Saul throwing his javelin.

1.1 Symphony. Allegro - Larghetto - Allegro - Andante Larghetto
1.2 How Excellent Thy Name, O Lord
1.3 An Infant Raised By Thy Command - Along the Monster Atheist Strode
1.4 The Youth Inspired By Thee, O Lord - How Excellent Thy Name, O Lord
1.5 He Comes, He Comes! - O God-Like Youth! - Behold, O King, the Brave, Victorious Youth
1.6 O King, Your Favours with Delight - Oh Early Piety!
1.7 What Abject Thoughts a Prince Can Have! - Yet Think, on Whom This Honour You Bestow
1.8 Birth and Fortune I Despise!
1.9 Go on, Illustrious Pair! - While Yet Thy Tide of Blood Runs High
1.10 Thou, Merab, First in Birth, Be First in Honour - My Soul Rejects the Thought with Scorn - See, with What a Scornful Air - Ah, Lovely Youth,
1.11 Symphony. Andante Allegro - Already See the Daughters of the Land - Welcome, Welcome, Mighty King!
1.12 What Do I Hear? - David His Ten Thousands Slew - to Him Ten Thousands - with Rage I Shall Start Burst His Praises to Hear
1.13 Imprudent Women! - Fell Rage and Black Despair Possessed
1.14 This But the Smallest Part of Harmony - By Thee This Universal Frame
1.15 Racked with Infernal Pains - O Lord, Whose Mercies Numberless
1.16 Symphony. Largo - 'Tis All in Vain, His Fury Still Continues
1.17 A Serpent, in My Bosom Warmed - Has He Escaped My Rage?
1.18 Capricious Man
1.19 O Filial Piety! - No, Cruel Father, No!
1.20 O Lord, Whose Providence - Preserve Him for the Glory of Thy Name
1.21 Envy! Eldest Born of Hell!
1.22 Ah! Dearest Friend - But Sooner Jordan's Stream, I Swear
1.23 Oh Strange Vicissitude! - Such Haughty Beauties Rather Move
2.1 My Father Comes - Hast Thou Obeyed My Orders
2.2 Sin Not, O King, Against the Youth - As Great Jehovah Lives - from Cities Stormed, and Battles Won
2.3 Appear, My Friend - Your Words, O King, My Loyal Heart - Yes, He Shall Wed My Daughter!
2.4 A Father's Will Has Authorised My Love - O Fairest of Ten Thousand Fair - Is There a Man
2.5 Symphony. Largo - Allegro
2.6 Thy Father Is As Cruel - at Persecution I Can Laugh
2.7 Whom Dost Thou Seek - No, No Let the Guilty Tremble
2.8 Mean As He Was, He Is My Brother Now - Author of Peace, Who Canst Controul
2.9 Symphony. Allegro
2.10 The Time at Length Is Come - Where Is the Son of Jesse?
2.11 Oh Fatal Consequence of Rage
2.12 Wretch That I Am - 'Tis Said, Here Lives a Woman
2.13 With Me What Would'st Thou - Infernal Spirits
2.14 Why Hast Thou Forced Me from the Realms of Peace
2.15 Symphony. Allegro
2.16 Whence Comest Thou? - Impious Wretch, of Race Accurst!
2.17 March. Grave
2.18 Mourn, Israel
2.19 Oh Let It Not in Gath Be Heard
2.20 From This Unhappy Day
2.21 Brave Jonathan His Bow Never Drew - Eagles Were Not So Swift As They
2.22 In Sweetest Harmony They Lived! - O Fatal Day! - Ye Men of Judah, Weep No More!
2.23 Gird on Thy Sword, Thou Man of Might

Handel, G. / Rosemary, Joshua / Jacobs, Rene: Saul

Regular price Sale price $14.60 $16.98
Taxes and Shipping calculated at checkout.

Recently viewed