Born Free: Songs From Soul Asylum's Latest LP 'Hurry Up And Wait' Get An Acoustic EP

Tower's PULSE! spoke with Soul Asylum's Dave Pirner not too long ago about the band's latest release, Hurry Up and Wait, and how inspiring they've found the process of performing 100 songs acoustically on Facebook Live during quarantine. You can find that discussion here, and here. Now, driven by the same energy, the band have decided to release an acoustic EP, Born Free, featuring songs from their latest LP.

The digital recordings were completed in the midst of the COVID-19 safer-at-home orders when the band found themselves home, after their U.S. tour was cut short. Lead singer Pirner got together with guitarist Ryan Smith and began streaming Friday night Quarantine Sessions from his living room. The idea to record a few of the songs this way took hold and the first single, “If I Told You” is now available.
Pirner explains:

"After I get the main idea for the song and have roughly figured out how to play it I show it to Ryan and then we play it together. So, in a way, this is kind of showing how the songs were before we added the rhythm section. It's fun to cut live in the studio; there's no going back and you can't fix it. It's unembellished, therefore hopefully interesting."
Hurry Up and Wait was recorded with a long-time studio collaborator, co-producer John Fields, who also worked on the band's previous three albums, including their most recent effort, 2016's Change of Fortune. In addition, the group also recorded in a familiar spot: Nicollet Studios, the same place they recorded one of their seminal early albums released on Twin/Tone Records, the 1986 LP While You Were Out.

Soul Asylum will also be taking part in this year’s rescheduled Record Store Day. A deluxe version of Hurry Up and Wait will be available with a bonus 7 inch to celebrate the third RSD drop on October 24, 2020. The gatefold double LP album is pressed on 180 Gram Vinyl and includes a bonus 7 Inch featuring two previously unreleased recordings; a studio version of live staple "Rhinestone Cowboy" and an acoustic version of the band's fan favorite "We 3," a track that first appeared on And The Horse They Rode In On and later on the Chasing Amy soundtrack.

The current Soul Asylum line-up features Dave Pirner as lead vocals/guitar, Michael Bland on drums, Ryan Smith on lead guitar, and Wynston Roye on bass. 

Leave a comment