Waiting for Columbus (CD) ~ Little Feat (Artist) Cover Art

Availability: Currently unavailable
Also Available in: [CD]

Little Feat Artist Snapshot:

Los Angeles' Little Feat served up a polymorphic gumbo of New Orleans funk, southern boogie, and blues rock with the soulful slide guitar, worn voice, and tremendous country-tinged songwriting of leader Lowell George as its main ingredients. Founded by George and pianist Bill Payne in 1969, Little Feat released a couple of straighter blues rock albums before embracing an infectious, Meters-like groove in their rhythm section (Roy Estrada and Richie Hayward of the Mothers of Invention). Despite a run of critically acclaimed albums throughout the '70s--and George's continuing excellence as a songwriter--the band broke up in 1979 shortly after George died. Reformed versions of Little Feat continued to release records and tour in the ensuing decades.

Other tracks from this album

DISC 1 for Waiting for Columbus (CD) Album By Little Feat
1   Join The Band
2   Fat Man In The Bathtub
3   All That You Dream
4   Oh Atlanta
5   Old Folks' Boogie
6   Dixie Chicken
7   Tripe Face Boogie
8   Rocket In My Pocket
9   Time Loves A Hero
10   Day Or Night
11   Mercenary Territory
12   Spanish Moon
DISC 2 for Waiting for Columbus (CD) Album By Little Feat
1   Willin'
2   Don't Bogart That Joint
3   Apolitical Blues
4   Sailin' Shoes
5   Feats Don't Fail Me Now
6   One Love Stand (Outtake)
7   Rock And Roll Doctor (Outtake)
8   Skin It Back (Outtake)
9   On Your Way Down (Outtake)
10   Walkin All Night (Outtake)
11   Cold, Cold, Cold (Outtake)
12   Day At The Dog Races (Outtake)
13   Skin It Back (Outtake first issued on "Hoy-Hoy!")
14   Red Streamliner (Outtake first issued on "Hoy-Hoy!")

Product Description

Run a Quick Search on "Waiting for Columbus" Little Feat to Browse Related Products:

Browse more products related to "Waiting for Columbus"

Browse more products related to "Little Feat"

Album Description

Deluxe edition of Little Feat''s classic 1978 live album plus 10 bonus tracks (7 of them previously unreleased). Disc 2 features the previously unissued outtakes ''One Love Stand'', ''Rock And Roll Doctor'', ''Skin It Back'', ''On Your Way Down'', ''Walkin All Night'', ''Cold, Cold, Cold'', ''Day At The Dog Races'' & 3 outtakes first issued on Hoy Hoy! ''Skin It Back'', ''Red Streamliner'' & ''Teenage Nervous Breakdown''. Slipcase.

Product Notes

This 1978 live album remains a serious contender for one of the best live rock albums ever etched, standing toe to toe with live classics from the Band, Allman Brothers, and the Who. Recorded during concerts in London and Washington, D.C., Waiting for Columbus vividly captures the L.A. sextet at a crossroads between its swampy mid-''70s fusion of blues, country, and New Orleans R&B, and the more eclectic jazz accents introduced later in the decade. If the late Lowell George''s influence had diminished in the studio, his presence dominates here in rowdy, righteous vocals, the mercurial tang of his indelible slide guitar, and a set-list laced with his songs. While still riveting in its initial, abridged CD release, this remastered two-disc edition expands and resequences the songs into a full concert set, with encore. Two deleted tracks are further augmented by 10 additional performances to make this a definitive edition of a classic album that really will "boogie your speakers away." --Sam Sutherland

Customer Reviews for "Waiting for Columbus (CD)" by Little Feat

There are no customer reviews yet. Be the first to write a review!

Submit your Review

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials

Tower.com Sales, Promotions & Special Features

Tower.com Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with Tower.com