Voice Within (CD) ~ Percy Mayfield Cover Art

Voice Within - Specialty Singles 1950 - 55

By: Percy Mayfield

List Price: $173.55
Current Price: $173.55
You Save: $2.91 (15%)

Track Listing

DISC 1 for Voice Within - Specialty Singles 1950 - 55 Album By Percy Mayfield
1   Please Send Me Someone to Love
2   Strange Things Happening
3   Lost Love (aka Baby, Please Come Back to Me)
4   Life Is Suicide
5   What a Fool I Was
6   Nightless Lover
7   My Blues
8   Prayin' for Your Return
9   Cry Baby
10   Hopeless (aka Nappin' the Nickles)
11   The Big Question
12   The Hunt Is On
13   Louisiana
14   Two Hearts Are Greater Than One
15   Lonesome Highway
16   My Heart
17   The River's Invitation
18   I Dare You Baby
19   The Lonely One
20   Lost Mind
21   Bachelor Blues
22   How Deep Is the Well?
23   Loose Lips
24   I Need Love So Bad
25   Sugar Mama-Peachy Papa
26   You Don't Exist No More
27   You Were Lyin' to Me
28   My Heart Is Cryin'
29   The Voice Within

Product Description

Customer Reviews for "Voice Within - Specialty Singles 1950 - 55" by Percy Mayfield

There are no customer reviews yet. Be the first to write a review!

Submit your Review

Run a Quick Search on "Voice Within - Specialty Singles 1950 - 55" by Percy Mayfield to Browse Related Products:

Browse more products related to "Voice Within - Specialty Singles 1950 - 55"

Browse more products related to "Percy Mayfield"

Album Description

Percy Mayfield was famous for writing the timeless songs 'Hit the Road Jack' and 'Please Send Me Someone to Love', as well as being a hit-making R&B artist known for his smooth, relaxed, vocal style. Mayfield sang melancholy Blues ballads, mostly his own songs, in a gentle, sad, vocal style. His most famous recording 'Please Send Me Someone To Love', a number one R&B hit in 1950, was widely influential and recorded by many other singers. The song is a brilliant combination of sensitivity to wider issues of conflict in the world and the very personal need for love. In 1961 he came to the attention of Ray Charles with his song 'Hit The Road Jack', and signed to The Genius' own label, Tangerine Records - primarily as a songwriter where he wrote 'Hide Nor Hair'. 'At The Club', 'Danger Zone', and 'On The Other Hand, Baby' . Mayfield's songs tended to be downbeat and heartbreaking, but his vulnerability and emotional sensitivity prevent songs such as 'Life Is Suicide' and 'The River's Invitation' from being maudlin. Here then is a selection of his timeless hits as a singer and songwriter, just the thing for those lonely, wee hours, melancholy yet somehow joyful. 29 tracks. Rev-Ola. 2007

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials

Tower.com Sales, Promotions & Special Features

Tower.com Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with Tower.com