Vieuxtemps: Violin Concertos Nos. 5, 6 & 7 (CD) ~ Andrew Mog... Cover Art

Violin Concertos 5 6 & 7 (CD)

By: H. Vieuxtemps

Current Price: $8.99
Download MP3

Also available from:

Provider Name Price From Condition Buy
1   HBDirect $12.44 New Buy
2   FYE $12.99 New Buy
3   CD Universe $14.09 New Buy

Track Listing

MP3 Downloads Album                  CD Universe Album
DISC 1 for Violin Concertos 5 6 & 7 (CD) Album By H. Vieuxtemps iTunes CD Universe
1   Violin Concerto No. 5 in A minor, Op. 37, "Gretry": Allegro non troppo - Moderato Buy    
2   Violin Concerto No. 5 in A minor, Op. 37, "Gretry": Adagio Buy Buy  
3   Violin Concerto No. 5 in A minor, Op. 37, "Gretry": Allegro con fuoco Buy Buy  
4   Violin Concerto No. 6 in G major, Op. 47: Allegro moderato Buy    
5   Violin Concerto No. 6 in G major, Op. 47: Pastorale: Andante con moto Buy Buy  
6   Violin Concerto No. 6 in G major, Op. 47: Intermezzo siciliano Buy Buy  
7   Violin Concerto No. 6 in G major, Op. 47: Rondo final: Allegretto Buy Buy  
8   Violin Concerto No. 7 in A minor, Op. 49: Moderato Buy Buy  
9   Violin Concerto No. 7 in A minor, Op. 49: Melancolie Buy Buy  

Product Description

Run a Quick Search on "Violin Concertos 5 6 & 7" by H. Vieuxtemps to Browse Related Products:

Browse more products related to "Violin Concertos 5 6 & 7"

Browse more products related to "H. Vieuxtemps"

Product Notes

This third volume completes Misha Keylin's splendid recordings of Vieuxtemps' violin concertos; however, another one featuring his short pieces with orchestra will follow in 2005. Vieuxtemps (1820-1881) was not only one of the greatest violinists of his time but also a master pedagogue who taught or influenced Ysa├┐e, Hubay, and Auer. His compositions are generally regarded as mere bravura showpieces, but this is contradicted by these last three concertos, which--though they do indeed demand utmost virtuosity from the player--reveal solid structural craftsmanship, masterful orchestration, and considerable emotional depth and intensity. No. 5 is the most familiar, but all abound in lovely melodies, inventive harmonies, and almost operatic drama and lyricism. As in the previous two volumes (Concertos Nos. 1 and 4 and Concertos Nos. 2 and 3), the playing is spectacular. Keylin! has the effortless brilliance, facility and flair to make the most hair-raising technical feats seem easy; he tosses off long passages in staccato, harmonics, and double and triple stops; his runs are perfectly clear at any speed. His tone is pure, focused, and beautiful, glowing in the low register, soaring up high, and he can change mood, color, and expression instantly with bow and vibrato. In the early concertos, he gave shape to the often overabundant sequences, keeping the grandeur from becoming bombastic and the fireworks from sounding empty. Here, without external effects, sentimentality, or excess, he projects every emotional nuance with captivating charm and genuine identification, from pensive inwardness to passionate ardor. For lovers of the best violin virtuoso writing and playing, this record is a must. --Edith Eisler

Customer Reviews for "Violin Concertos 5 6 & 7 (CD)" by H. Vieuxtemps

There are no customer reviews yet. Be the first to write a review!

Submit your Review

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials Sales, Promotions & Special Features Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with