The Very Best of the Impressions (CD) ~ The Impressions (Artist) Cover Art

The Very Best of the Impressions (CD)

By: The Impressions

Current Price: $12.19
Download MP3

Also available from:

Provider Name Price From Condition Buy
1 $14.55 New Buy
2   HBDirect $16.14 New Buy
3   CD Universe $16.39 New Buy
4   FYE $17.98 New Buy

Track Listing

MP3 Downloads
DISC 1 for The Very Best of the Impressions (CD) Album By The Impressions
1   I Found You Buy
2   Eternally Blue Buy
3   Just One Look Buy
4   Keep on Pushing  
5   You Must Believe Me  
6   Amen  
7   People Get Ready  
8   Woman's Got Soul  
9   We're a Winner  
10   Fool for You  
11   This Is My Country  
12   Choice of Colors  
13   Check out Your Mind [*]  
14   Finally Got Myself Together (I'm a Changed Man) [*] - The Impressions, Townsend, Ed  
15   Sooner or Later [*] - The Impressions, Townsend, Ed  

Product Description

Run a Quick Search on "The Very Best of the Impressions" by The Impressions to Browse Related Products:

Browse more products related to "The Very Best of the Impressions"

Browse more products related to "The Impressions"

Album Description

The Impressions forged a crucial link between 50s era R&B and 60s soul,
and when they were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1991 it was noted, They pioneered and epitomized the sound of Chicago soul, a marriage of gospel and pop influences with a timely conscience. As songwriter, producer and part of the group s stellar vocal harmonies, Curtis Mayfield helped infuse their sound with authentic soul and a social awareness that
made many of their songs including People Get Ready, We're A Winner, and Keep On Pushing fundamentally identified with the civil rights movement. They re among the
classics on this definitive, 16-song single-discsurvey of their landmark tracks, which was compiled with input from Mayfield himself (the
collection originally came out in 97, Mayfield passed in 99). Other highlights include their
seminal 61 single Gypsy Woman, Amen, the #1 hits It's All Right and Finally Got Myself Together (I m A Changed Man) and much more.

Product Notes

Sweet soul music of the highest caliber, the singles collected here--including classics like "Keep On Pushing," "Amen," and "People Get Ready"--were primarily the creation of singer-songwriter Curtis Mayfield, but they also feature gorgeous harmonies and occasional leads by Impressions Fred Cash and Samuel Gooden. And--bonus!--besides including most of the group's Mayfield-era hits, The Very Best also documents the Impressions' biggest post-Mayfield recording, "Finally Got Myself Together (I'm a Changed Man)." As an introduction to the group, in fact, this disc's only flaw is that it omits their heavenly 1958 hit "For Your Precious Love," with original lead Jerry Butler. --David Cantwell

Customer Reviews for "The Very Best of the Impressions (CD)" by The Impressions

There are no customer reviews yet. Be the first to write a review!

Submit your Review

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials Sales, Promotions & Special Features Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with