The Very Best of Chicago: Only the Beginning (CD) ~ Chicago (Art... Cover Art

The Very Best of Chicago: Only the Beginning

By: Chicago

Provider: Amazon US
Availability: Download available
Also Available in: [CD]

Chicago Artist Snapshot:

Chicago was the longest-running and most commercially successful of the hordes of jazz-rock bands with horn sections that sprang up in the late-1960s wake of Blood, Sweat & Tears. After myriad personnel changes (including the death of founding guitarist Terry Kath due to a self-inflicted gunshot wound), Chicago eventually mutated into a more conventional pop group that was able to score hit after hit well into the '80s, usually with romantic ballads. They remain among the best-selling American bands of all time. In the mid 1990s they briefly returned to their roots with an album of big band-era standards given the Chicago treatment.

Track Listing

MP3 Downloads Album                 
DISC 1 for The Very Best of Chicago: Only the Beginning Album By Chicago iTunes
1   Make Me Smile/ Now More Than Ever (Remastered NEW EDIT Version) Buy Buy
2   25 Or 6 To 4 (Remastered LP Version) Buy Buy
3   Does Anybody Really Know What Time It Is? (NEW EDIT Remastered Version) Buy Buy
4   Beginnings (GH Edit Remastered Version) Buy Buy
5   Question 67 And 68 (Remastered LP Version) Buy Buy
6   I'm A Man (New Edit Remastered Version) Buy Buy
7   Colour My World (Remastered LP Version #2/GH) Buy Buy
8   Free (Remastered LP Version) Buy Buy
9   Lowdown (Remastered LP Version) Buy Buy
10   Saturday In The Park (Remastered Version) Buy Buy
11   Dialogue (Part I & III) (Remastered SINGLE Version) Buy Buy
12   Just You 'N' Me (Remastered LP Version) Buy Buy
13   Feelin' Stronger Every Day (Remastered LP Version) Buy Buy
14   (I've Been) Searchin' So Long (Remastered LP Version) Buy Buy
15   Wishing You Were Here (Remastered LP Version) Buy Buy
16   Call On Me (Remastered LP Version) Buy Buy
17   Happy Man (GH2 Edit Remastered Version) Buy Buy
18   Another Rainy Day In New York City (Remastered LP Version) Buy Buy
19   If You Leave Me Now (Remastered LP Version) Buy Buy
DISC 2 for The Very Best of Chicago: Only the Beginning Album By Chicago iTunes
1   Old Days (Remastered LP Version) Buy Buy
2   Baby, What A Big Surprise (Remastered LP Version) Buy Buy
3   Take Me Back To Chicago (Remastered SINGLE Version) Buy Buy
4   Alive Again (Remastered LP Version) Buy Buy
5   No Tell Lover (Remastered LP Version) Buy Buy
6   Love Me Tomorrow (Single Remastered Version) Buy Buy
7   Hard To Say I'm Sorry/Get Away (Album Version) Buy Buy
8   Stay The Night (LP Version) Buy Buy
9   Hard Habit To Break (LP Version) Buy Buy
10   You're The Inspiration (LP Version) Buy Buy
11   Along Comes A Woman (Single Version) Buy Buy
12   Will You Still Love Me? (Single Version) Buy Buy
13   If She Would Have Been Faithful (Album Version) Buy Buy
14   Look Away (Album Version) Buy Buy
15   What Kind Of Man Would I Be? (Album / Single Version) Buy Buy
16   I Don't Wanna Live Without Your Love (Album Version) Buy Buy
17   We Can Last Forever (Album / Single Version) Buy Buy
18   You're Not Alone (Album / Single Version) Buy Buy
19   Chasin' The Wind (Album Version) Buy Buy
20   Sing, Sing, Sing, (Remastered LP Version) Buy Buy

Product Description

Customer Reviews for "The Very Best of Chicago: Only the Beginning" by Chicago

There are no customer reviews yet. Be the first to write a review!

Submit your Review

Run a Quick Search on "The Very Best of Chicago: Only the Beginning" Chicago to Browse Related Products:

Browse more products related to "The Very Best of Chicago: Only the Beginning"

Browse more products related to "Chicago"

Album Description

Subtitled - Only The Beginning. Double disc with 39 hit singles spanning Chicago's complete 35-year history. Including the #1 singles 'If You Leave Me Now,' 'Hard To Say I'm Sorry' and 'Look Away'. Booklet features detailed liner notes by Bill DeYoung. Rhino Records. Slipcase. 2002.

Product Notes

From the perspective of 15 subsequent platinum albums and 20 top-10 hits, it's hard to imagine that Chicago began their career as a bona fide prog-fusion act, an early FM radio favorite whose jazz-tinged, album-length suites found them a hip cult following even as they confounded label execs. Ironically, when the pioneering horn band (a contemporary of Blood, Sweat & Tears and inspiration for one-hit wonders like Lighthouse, Ides of March, and Ten Wheel Drive) relented and allowed their music to be edited down to single length, their success was explosive. Most of the "single edits" on disc 1 of this 39-track anthology provide ample evidence of that de facto formula: a catchy riff ("25 or 6 to 4," "Saturday in the Park," "Color My World") develops into a hook-filled, pop-savvy production rife with the band's trademark horn perfection. One could argue that that sensibility--and a midcareer tilt toward producer David Foster, songwriter Diane Warren, and the MOR ballads that became some of their biggest successes--degenerated into formula. Indeed, there's much on the second disc to support that notion. This set spans it all, showcasing newly refocused edits of some their biggest early hits and lesser-known tracks like their lively '95 cross-cultural collaboration with the Gipsy Kings on a cover of Louis Prima's swing classic "Sing, Sing, Sing." --Jerry McCulley

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials Sales, Promotions & Special Features Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with