Songs In A Minor (CD) ~ Alicia Keys (Artist) Cover Art

Songs in A Minor

By: Alicia Keys

Current Price: $1.60
Download MP3

Also available from:

Provider Name Price From Condition Buy
1   FYE $2.50 New Buy
2   CD Universe $11.59 New Buy

Mesh Match For "Songs in A Minor" CD by Alicia Keys:

Alicia Keys Artist Snapshot:

Precocious R&B vocalist/pianist Alicia Keys was hand-picked by Clive Davis as one of the flagship artists for his post-Arista label, J Records. No doubt he was as impressed by her multitude of skills (Keys took a large role in the writing, arranging, and production of her debut album) as by her music, which mates contemporary hip-hop accoutrements to an old-school soul sensibility … la Jill Scott or D'Angelo. Only 20 years old at the time of the album's release, Keys already seemed poised for a major career built upon her soulful voice and classically trained piano chops. While hip-hop played a much bigger role on her sophomore effort, 2003's THE DIARY OF ALICIA KEYS, it was a smash nonetheless, and subsequent recordings have further pushed the boundaries of R&B.

Track Listing

MP3 Downloads Album                  CD Universe Album
DISC 1 for Songs in A Minor Album By Alicia Keys iTunes CD Universe
1   Piano & I Buy Buy  
2   Girlfriend Buy Buy  
3   How Come You Don't Call Me Buy Buy  
4   Fallin' Buy Buy  
5   Troubles Buy Buy  
6   Rock Wit U Buy Buy  
7   A Woman's Worth Buy Buy  
8   Jane Doe Buy Buy  
9   Goodbye Buy Buy  
10   The Life Buy Buy  
11   Mr. Man Buy Buy  
12   Never Felt This Way Buy Buy  
13   Butterflyz Buy Buy  
14   Why Do I Feel So Sad Buy Buy  
15   Caged Bird Buy Buy  
16   Lovin U Buy Buy  

Product Description

Customer Reviews for "Songs in A Minor" by Alicia Keys

There are no customer reviews yet. Be the first to write a review!

Submit your Review

Run a Quick Search on "Songs in A Minor" by Alicia Keys to Browse Related Products:

Browse more products related to "Songs in A Minor"

Browse more products related to "Alicia Keys"

Album Description

Songs in A Minor Alicia Keys Label: J-Records Release Date: 6/26/2001 1 Piano & I - 1:52 2 Girlfriend - 3:34 3 How Come You Don''t Call Me - 3:57 4 Fallin'' - 3:30 5 Troubles - 4:28 6 Rock Wit U - 5:36 7 A Woman''s Worth - 5:03 8 Jane Doe - 3:48 9 Goodbye - 4:20 10 The Life - 5:25 11 Mr. Man - 4:09 12 Never Felt This Way (Interlude) - 2:01 13 Butterflyz - 4:08 14 Why Do I Feel So Sad - 4:25 15 Caged Bird (Outro) - 3:02 16 Lovin'' U - 3:49

Product Notes

She may be beautiful, but Alicia Keys is a musician first and foremost. She plants herself firmly behind the piano keys on her debut, unlike many of the booty-waggin' junior divas who are crowding the R&B videoscape these days. Though many of the tracks on Songs in A Minor are embellished with adolescent angst, this 20-year-old's substantial, gorgeously soul-drenched alto putties the cracks between notes with astonishing ease. "Fallin'," the album's first single, showcases Keys at her best. She wails plaintively and passionately over rolling blues chords, in the tradition of the greats that this young talent clearly wants to align herself with--Stevie Wonder, Donny Hathaway, and Aretha Franklin. She swoops and soars over the spicy, flamenco-fueled melody that opens "Mr. Mann," one of the many winning tracks gathered here. And she digs deep into a remake of the beloved Prince B-side, "How Come U Don't Call Me Anymore?" packing more heat into her melismatic wails than most singers twice her age. --Sylvia W. Chan

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials Sales, Promotions & Special Features Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with