Songs from the Labyrinth (CD) ~ Sting (Artist) Cover Art

Have You Seen The Bright Lily Grow

By: John Dowland, Sting, Edin Karamazov

Price from: $0.99
Provider: Amazon US
Availability: Download available
Also Available in: [CD]

Other tracks from this album

MP3 Downloads Album                  CD Universe Album
DISC 1 for Songs from the Labyrinth (CD) Album By John Dowland iTunes CD Universe
1   Walsingham Buy Buy  
2   Can She Excuse My Wrongs? Buy Buy  
3   "Ryght Honorable: As I Have Bin Most Bounde Unto Your Honor..." Buy Buy  
4   Flow My Tears Buy Buy  
5   Have You Seen The Bright Lily Grow Buy Buy  
6   "...Then In Time Passing One Mr. Johnson Died..." Buy Buy  
7   The Most High And Mighty Christianus The Forth, King Of Denmark, His Galliard Buy Buy  
8   The Lowest Trees Have Tops Buy Buy  
9   "...And Accordinge As I Desired Ther Cam A Letter..." Buy Buy  
10   Fine Knacks For Ladies Buy Buy  
11   "...From Thence I Went To The Landgrave Of Hessen..." Buy Buy  
12   Fantasy Buy Buy  
13   Come Heavy Sleep Buy Buy  
14   Forlorn Hope Fancy Buy Buy  
15   "...And From Thence I Had Great Desire To See Italy..." Buy Buy  
16   Come Again Buy Buy  
17   Wilt Thou Unkind Thus Reave Me Buy Buy  
18   "...After My Departure I Caled To Mynde Our Conference..." Buy Buy  
19   Weep You No More, Sad Fountains Buy Buy  
20   My Lord Willoughby's Welcome Home Buy Buy  
21   Clear Or Cloudy Buy Buy  
22   "...Men Say That The Kinge Of Spain Is Making Gret Preparation..." Buy Buy  

Product Description

Run a Quick Search on "Songs from the Labyrinth" John Dowland to Browse Related Products:

Browse more products related to "Songs from the Labyrinth"

Browse more products related to "John Dowland, Sting, Edin Karamazov"

Album Description

StingÂ’s Songs From The Labyrinth is an album of 17th century music composed by John Dowland and performed on the lute, an ancient acoustic guitar. After being given a lute nearly two years ago as a gift, Sting became fascinated and immersed himself with the instrument and the history of lute music. Reminded of his almost 25 year long enthrallment with the works of John Dowland, the Elizabethan composer who wrote songs for the lute, Sting has recorded a new album of vocal and lute music. All songs were composed by Dowland in the 17th century, but have been given new life in these fresh new recordings by Sting. Sting not only sings all the songs (accompanied by leading lutenist Edin Karamasov, who appears on two Andreas Scholl albums), but also plays lute on two instrumental duets with Edin and reads short extracts from a fascinating autobiographical letter by Dowland. Sting has also written a brilliant account of the album's genesis, along with notes on the individual tracks, which serves as the CD booklet.

Product Notes

In choosing to cover the music of John Dowland (1563-1626), who is known as the "melancholy madrigalist" from his output of cheerful ditties like "Flow My Tears," Police bandleader Sting has entered into a whole new realm of austere eeriness. Originally inspired by the gift of a lute, the rock superstar and activist sings the songs, deliciously sweet and tender or spirited by turn, accompanying himself, with Edin Karamazov sitting on lute and archlute. For listeners accustomed to hearing material of this period interpreted by rigorously trained early music stylists, especially countertenors and the like, Sting's sometimes tight-jawed, chest-heavy vocals may seem amateurish. It's undeniable that in four-part harmonies, the singer, tightly overdubbed, comes across like a combination of the Swingle Singers and Queen (meaning Freddy Mercury and crew, NOT the first Elizabeth). But it's important to remember that music of this period was routinely heard as a casual diversion in private homes, even more often than at Court. It was considered a crucial social skill to be able to join in with an adequate degree of skill, but not everyone was able to negotiate the perilous melodic twists and turns typical of the era's music. With this in mind, the overall effect is of a candle-lit, postprandial entertainment in the home of an English gentleman. Muttered readings from Dowland's letters and brief snippets of sampled birdsong aside, it is a courageous effort, displaying heartfelt admiration for the composer and a considerable degree of earnest charm. --Christina Roden

Customer Reviews for "Songs from the Labyrinth (CD)" by John Dowland

There are no customer reviews yet. Be the first to write a review!

Submit your Review

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials Sales, Promotions & Special Features Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with