Ruff Draft (CD) ~ J Dilla (Artist) Cover Art

Ruff Draft (CD)

By: J Dilla

List Price: $15.98
Current Price: $12.99
You Save: $2.99 (19%)
Download MP3

Also available from:

Provider Name Price From Condition Buy
1 $13.01 New Buy
2   CD Universe $14.79 New Buy

Track Listing

MP3 Downloads Album                 
DISC 1 for Ruff Draft (CD) Album By J Dilla iTunes
1   Intro [Explicit] Buy Buy
2   Let's Take It Back [Explicit] Buy Buy
3   Reckless Driving [Explicit] Buy Buy
4   Nothing Like This [Explicit] Buy Buy
5   The $ [Explicit] Buy Buy
6   Interlude [Explicit] Buy Buy
7   Make'em NV [Explicit] Buy Buy
8   Interlude [Explicit] Buy Buy
9   Crushin' (Yeeeeaah!) [Explicit] Buy Buy
10   Shouts [Explicit] Buy Buy
11   Intro (Alt) [Explicit] Buy Buy
12   Wild [Explicit] Buy Buy
13   Take Notice [Explicit] Buy Buy
14   Shouts (Alt) [Explicit] Buy Buy
DISC 2 for Ruff Draft (CD) Album By J Dilla iTunes
1   Let's Take It Back - Inst. [Explicit] Buy Buy
2   Reckless Drving - Inst. [Explicit] Buy Buy
3   Nothing Like This - Inst. [Explicit] Buy Buy
4   The $ - Inst. [Explicit] Buy Buy
5   Make'em NV - Inst. [Explicit] Buy Buy
6   Crushin' - Inst. [Explicit] Buy Buy
7   Intro - Inst. (Alt) [Explicit] Buy Buy
8   Wild - Inst. [Explicit] Buy Buy
9   Take Notice - Inst. [Explicit] Buy Buy

Product Description

Run a Quick Search on "Ruff Draft" by J Dilla to Browse Related Products:

Browse more products related to "Ruff Draft"

Browse more products related to "J Dilla"

Album Description

The legendary producer for the likes of Common, Tribe Called Quest, & Slum Village originally released this rare vinyl only album in 2003. Here it is reissued, remastered, & packaged with 4 unreleased tracks including the instrumentals.

Product Notes

When he was known as Jay Dee in the late 1990s and early 2000s, James D. Yancey was busy crafting loping, laid-back, soulful beats for progressive hip-hoppers such as A Tribe Called Quest, Common, De La Soul, and the Pharcyde--and becoming a highly prized rap and neo-soul producer. In 2002 and 2003, following a stint with his Detroit high-school buddies in Slum Village and a stillborn solo career with MCA, Yancey entered a major transitional phase. He began referring to himself as J Dilla, moved to southern California, embraced the indie scene, and started to take a more experimental approach to his productions. The decidedly lo-fi Ruff Draft signaled the beginning of this new period (even though it was the last album released under the Jay Dee name). Layering creepy and bizarre effects atop his hypnotic grooves, Dilla expanded the sonic parameters of his craft, texturing the music with eerie synthesizer bleeps, distorted samples, and lurching rhythms. Dilla tossed off this quick project for his own listening pleasure, but the obscure, forward-looking EP--released on 12" vinyl by German label Groove Attack in February of 2003--became something of a collector's item. The 2007 Stones Throw reissue adds a few bonus tracks and a second all-instrumental CD to this pivotal work by the late hip-hop innovator. --Marc Greilsamer

Customer Reviews for "Ruff Draft (CD)" by J Dilla

There are no customer reviews yet. Be the first to write a review!

Submit your Review

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials Sales, Promotions & Special Features Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with