The Richest Man In Babylon (CD) ~ Thievery Corporation (Artist) Cover Art

The Richest Man in Babylon

By: Thievery Corporation

Current Price: $8.54
Download MP3

Also available from:

Provider Name Price From Condition Buy
1   CD Universe $13.79 New Buy

Thievery Corporation Artist Snapshot:

As Thievery Corporation, Eric Hilton and Rob Garza started working together in the mid-1990s, crafting a sound initially rooted in electronica, but deeply influenced by dub, Latin jazz, and bossa nova. Their atmospheric, low-key style has made the Washington, DC-based duo sought-after remixers as well as popular recording artists, and they've worked their sonic magic on everyone from Stereolab to David Byrne.

Track Listing

MP3 Downloads Album                 
DISC 1 for The Richest Man in Babylon Album By Thievery Corporation iTunes
1   Heaven's Gonna Burn Your Eyes Buy Buy
2   Facing East Buy Buy
3   The Outernationalist Buy Buy
4   Interlude Buy Buy
5   Omid (Hope) Buy Buy
6   All That We Perceive Buy Buy
7   Un Simple Histoire (A Simple Story) Buy Buy
8   Meu Destino (My Destiny) Buy Buy
9   Exilio (Exile) Buy Buy
10   From Creation Buy Buy
11   The Richest Man In Babylon Buy Buy
12   Liberation Front Buy Buy
13   The State Of The Union Buy Buy
14   Until The Morning Buy Buy
15   Resolution Buy Buy

Product Description

Customer Reviews for "The Richest Man in Babylon" by Thievery Corporation

There are no customer reviews yet. Be the first to write a review!

Submit your Review

Run a Quick Search on "The Richest Man in Babylon" by Thievery Corporation to Browse Related Products:

Browse more products related to "The Richest Man in Babylon"

Browse more products related to "Thievery Corporation"

Album Description

Rob Garza and Eric Hilton consider it their most introspective work to date. Existing somewhere between rock, dub, psychedelic, Latin, and electronic music, this 2002 album finds the duo elevating their signature sound with more contemplative and thought-provoking songwriter. The jewel case is housed in a slipcase along with a 40-page black & white photo booklet. Eighteenth Street Lounge. 2002.

Product Notes

Thievery Corporation's Eric Hilton and Rob Garza have always treated the line between acoustic and electronic music as a drunken sailor might, unpredictably falling on one side or the other with equal frequency. By this measure, The Richest Man in Babylon is their soberest effort to date, striding confidently into jazz, soul, world beat, and other styles with a direct, reverential approach. The band's last record, Sounds from the Verve Hi-Fi, featured a set of classic jazz tunes unadorned with remixes or reinterpretation. But the songs on Babylon are originals, incorporating not just jazz but Afro-beat, Brazilian dance, Persian and Indian music, reggae, and psychedelia, all while making expert use of new and old collaborators like Sleepy Wonder, Lou Lou, and Shinehead. Icelandic singer Emiliana Torrini makes an instant impression on the first track, "Heaven's Gonna Burn Your Eyes," her voice freeing the song's melody and structure with just a few hypnotic bars. It's hard to call this an electronic record at all; even their dub-influenced tracks miss a certain studio sheen, as if Hilton and Garza simply waded into a sweltering Jamaican beach party and hit record. But while it misses the ambient, ethereal edge that made The Mirror Conspiracy a downtempo classic, Babylon satisfies with organic energy and tasteful eclecticism. --Matthew Cooke

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials Sales, Promotions & Special Features Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with