Reflections of Spain: Spanish Favorites for Guitar (CD) ~ David ... Cover Art

Reflections of Spain: Spanish Favorites for Guitar

By: David Russell, Isaac Albeniz, Enrique Granados, Joaquin Malats, Francisco Tarrega, Antonio Ruiz-Pipo

List Price: $15.24
Current Price: $15.24
You Save: $0.80 (6%)
Download MP3

Also available from:

Provider Name Price From Condition Buy
1   CD Universe $17.99 New Buy

Track Listing

MP3 Downloads Album                 
DISC 1 for Reflections of Spain: Spanish Favorites for Guitar Album By David Russell iTunes
1   Malats: Serenata espanola Buy Buy
2   Tarrega: Capricho Arabe Buy Buy
3   Tarrega: Recuerdos de la Alhambra Buy Buy
4   Granados: Andaluza (Spanish Dance No. 5) Buy Buy
5   Granados: Danza melancolica (Spanish Dance No. 10) Buy Buy
6   Granados: La Maja de Goya (from Tonadillas al estila antiguo) Buy Buy
7   Granados: Valses poeticos - Vivace, poeticos, Tempo de vals noble, Tempo de vals lento, Allegro humoristico, Allegretto, Sentimental, Vivo, Presto Buy  
8   Albeniz: Sevilla (from Suite espanola, Op. 47) Buy Buy
9   Albeniz: Mallorca, Op. 202 Buy Buy
10   Albeniz: Asturias (from Suite espanola, Op. 47) Buy Buy
11   Ruiz-Pipo: Cancion y Danza No. 1 Buy Buy

Product Description

Customer Reviews for "Reflections of Spain: Spanish Favorites for Guitar" by David Russell

There are no customer reviews yet. Be the first to write a review!

Submit your Review

Run a Quick Search on "Reflections of Spain: Spanish Favorites for Guitar" by David Russell to Browse Related Products:

Product Notes

David Russell was born in Glasgow, Scotland, but his family moved to Spain while he was still a young boy so he could study music in the birthplace of classical guitar. On Reflections of Spain, Russell plays the music of his childhood home with all the joy you would expect from someone revisiting a beloved place. Russell's formidable technique is powered by a keen intelligence and tempered by an emotional delivery. He plays chestnuts like Tarrega's "Recuerdos de la Alhambra" and Albeinez's "Austurias" with a fond intimacy that rescues them from cliché. Perhaps the finest moments on the CD are Russell's guitar arrangements of four of Granados's compositions. Although Granados wrote pieces like "Danza Melancolia" and "Andaluza" for piano, Russell's thoughtful versions remind us that the folk dances that inspired them were originally accompanied by the guitar. David Russell is one the finest classical guitarists to emerge in recent years, and his playing on Reflections of Spain is a near perfect wedding of technique and temperament. --Michael Simmons

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials Sales, Promotions & Special Features Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with