Night Train (CD) ~ Oscar Peterson Trio (Artist) Cover Art

Night Train

By: Oscar Trio Peterson

Provider: Amazon US
Availability: Download available
Also Available in: [CD]

Oscar Peterson Artist Snapshot:

Among the most prodigiously recorded artists in all of jazz, pianist Oscar Peterson early on forged a strong relationship with producer Norman Granz, and since the 1950s he has been one of the cornerstones of Granz's labels (Verve, Pablo). Peterson has primarily worked in a trio setting, alternately with guitar & bass or bass & drums, though he has also performed solo, with larger groups, and with a full orchestra. Possessing dazzling technique, Peterson always delivers the musical goods in a powerfully swinging style. Peterson passed away December 23, 2007 at the age of 82.

Track Listing

MP3 Downloads Album                 
DISC 1 for Night Train Album By Oscar Trio Peterson iTunes
1   Night Train Buy Buy
2   C-Jam Blues Buy Buy
3   Georgia On My Mind Buy Buy
4   Bag's Groove Buy Buy
5   Moten Swing Buy Buy
6   Easy Does It Buy Buy
7   Honey Dripper Buy Buy
8   Things Ain't What They Used To Be Buy Buy
9   I Got It Bad And That Ain't Good Buy Buy
10   Band Call Buy Buy
11   Hymn To Freedom Buy Buy
12   Night Train (Alternate Take) Buy Buy
13   Volare Buy Buy
14   My Heart Belongs To Daddy Buy Buy
15   Moten Swing (Alternate Take) Buy Buy
16   Now's The Time Buy Buy
17   This Could Be The Start Of Something Buy Buy
18   Night Train (Partial Take/Breakdown) Buy Buy

Product Description

Customer Reviews for "Night Train" by Oscar Trio Peterson

There are no customer reviews yet. Be the first to write a review!

Submit your Review

Run a Quick Search on "Night Train" Oscar Trio Peterson to Browse Related Products:

Browse more products related to "Night Train"

Browse more products related to "Oscar Trio Peterson"

Product Notes

This 1962 recording represents Oscar Peterson at his most commercially accommodating, yet his trio with Ray Brown and Ed Thigpen never fails to swing. The program includes such familiar melodies as the title track (which began life as Duke Ellington's "Happy Go Lucky Local"), "Georgia on My Mind," and "The Honeydripper." With the notable exception of the gospel-like original "Hymn to Freedom," most of the tracks clock in at around three minutes. This reissue contains several alternate takes that were wisely left off the original LP, including such unlikely jazz vehicles as "Volare" and "My Heart Belongs to Daddy." --Rick Mitchell

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials Sales, Promotions & Special Features Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with