The Music of Gwydion (CD) ~ Gwydion Pendderwen Cover Art

The Music of Gwydion (CD)

By: Gwydion Pendderwen

Track Listing

DISC 1 for The Music of Gwydion (CD) Album By Gwydion Pendderwen
1   The Lord of the Dance
2   Lughnasad Dance
3   Spring Strathspey
4   Witches' Coven Dance
5   On Lady Day
6   The Wintry Queen
7   The Raven is Calling
8   Beltane Wedding Dance
9   Return of the King
10   The Sungod
11   Harvest Dance
12   Can Cerridwen
13   Witches Tune
14   Song of Mari
15   The Lady's Bransle
DISC 2 for The Music of Gwydion (CD) Album By Gwydion Pendderwen
1   The Raven is Calling (air)
2   I'll Be Reborn
3   We Won't Wait Any Longer
4   There's A Home in the Mountains
5   A Mother's Love
6   Sweet Mama Mine
7   The Trees of Annwfn
8   The Ballad of Richard III
9   The Crone's Lullaby
10   Farewell to Ye, Mary
11   Gwrach a Gwraig
12   There Will Always Be a Wales

Product Description

Run a Quick Search on "The Music of Gwydion" by Gwydion Pendderwen to Browse Related Products:

Browse more products related to "The Music of Gwydion"

Browse more products related to "Gwydion Pendderwen"

Album Description

Gwydion Pendderwen''s music is back again! Serpentine Music, in cooperation with the estate of the late, great Gwydion Pendderwen, has re-issued both of Gwydion''s albums, "Songs for the Old Religion" and "The Faerie Shaman" on a new double CD to be released November 23, 2005. The original masters to these albums have long been lost, so for this re-issue they were painstakingly re-created from vinyl records using the best digital transfer technology available. Gwydion was a gifted songwriter and performer, and at the time these albums came out--in 1975 and 1982--they were by far the best examples of Pagan song in existence. Gwydion''s tunes are catchy, with great hooks and nice chord progressions, and his finely crafted lyrics are always well-matched to the music. His music is a product of its culture and times: late 70s and early 80s Paganism, heavy on the Celtic themes and folk music instrumentation. But any sense of his music being dated is eminently forgivable simply because it is well-made and heartfelt. It stands on its own as some of the finest Pagan music made to date. This music has continued to be very influential in the resurgence of Pagan culture in the US and beyond. Now may they continue to inspire future generations of bards and poets.

Customer Reviews for "The Music of Gwydion (CD)" by Gwydion Pendderwen

Average Customer Review
5 out of 5 stars ( [1 customer review

Share your thoughts with other customers:
 [Submit your ReviewSubmit your Review

Most Recent Customer Reviews
5 out of 5 stars The Foundation of Pagan music recordings, February 5, 2013
By Hermes Herald
A re-release of the 2 albums recorded by Gwydion. "Songs for the Old Religion (1975) was more raw than "The Faerie Shaman" (1982, the year of his death in an auto accident). The home-recorded feel results in an intimate encounter with the earthy Feri Tradition. "The Wintry Queen," "Lughnasadh Dance," and "Spring Strathspey" are part of a Wheel of the Year cycle, and a song (that should have been credited to songwriter & vocalist Dana Corby) "Sun God" is another classic. From the more professionally-done 1982 release come what I call the Pagan National Anthem, "We Wont Wait Any Longer" and "The Raven is Calling." "Raven" is an eerie foreshadowing of the Bards imminent death, and is echoed later in the album. The rollicking pseudo-gospel number "Ill Be Reborn" is a wonderful way to remember this man, who was a pioneer in pagan music. Blessed Be, Gwydion, and cue the tuba!

Related Products
Emerald Rose, "Bending Tradition" and many others anything by Damh the Bard.

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials Sales, Promotions & Special Features Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with