The Music of Elliott Carter, Volume Four (CD) ~ William Purvis (... Cover Art

The Music of Elliott Carter Vol 4 (Import) (CD)

By: William Purvis (Conductor), Speculum Musicae members (Ensemble), Allen Blustine (Performer) and Chris Finckel (Performer)

Current Price: $18.94
Download MP3

Track Listing

MP3 Downloads Album                 
DISC 1 for The Music of Elliott Carter Vol 4 (Import) (CD) Album By William Purvis (Conductor) iTunes
1   Shard Buy Buy
2   Luimen Buy  
3   Tempo e Tempi: I. Tempo e Tempi Buy Buy
4   Tempo e Tempi: II. Ed e Subito Sera Buy Buy
5   Tempo e Tempi: III. Oboe Sommerso Buy Buy
6   Tempo e Tempi: IV. Una Columba Buy Buy
7   Tempo e Tempi: V. Godimento Buy Buy
8   Tempo e Tempi: VI. L'Arno a Rovezzano Buy Buy
9   Tempo e Tempi: VII. Uno Buy Buy
10   Tempo E Tempi: VIII. Segreto Del Poeta Buy Buy
11   Eight Pieces for Four Timpani: I. Improvisation Buy Buy
12   Eight Pieces for Four Timpani: II. Saeta Buy Buy
13   Eight Pieces for Four Timpani: III. Moto Perpetuo Buy Buy
14   Eight Pieces for Four Timpani: IV. Recitative Buy Buy
15   Eight Pieces for Four Timpani: V. Canto Buy Buy
16   Eight Pieces for Four Timpani: VI. March Buy Buy
17   Eight Pieces for Four Timpani: VII. Adagio Buy Buy
18   Eight Pieces For Four Timpani: VIII. Canaries Buy Buy

Product Description

Customer Reviews for "The Music of Elliott Carter Vol 4 (Import) (CD)" by William Purvis (Conductor)

There are no customer reviews yet. Be the first to write a review!

Submit your Review

Run a Quick Search on "The Music of Elliott Carter Vol 4" by William Purvis to Browse Related Products:

Album Description

With this release Bridge continues its award winning series devoted to the music of Elliot Carter. This volume contain the premiere recordings of two recent Carter scores- the highly inventive Luimen and the stunning song style on Italian poetry, Tempo e Tempi. Performing on this CD are members of Speculum Musicae- the ensemble that has been most closely associated with Carter''s music during the past 30 years. The disc opens with Shard, performed by the work''s dedicatee, guitarist David Starobin. Shard is the second solo guitar work Carter has composed for Starobin, and is a brief, but highly volatile opener. Shard in its entirety was incorporated into Carter''s next work- the shimmering Luimen. Speculum''s performance of Luimen shows all the traits that have made Carter''s recent music so intriguing- great rhythmic freedom and superb control of form in combination with high spirits and good humor. Tempo e Tempi is a set of eight songs based on poems by Eugenio Montale, Salvatore Quasimodo, and Giuseppe Ungaretti. Called by annotator Malcolm McDonald, "one of the most beautiful song-cycles of recent times," Susan Narucki''s radiant performance captures these songs to perfection. Finishing this program is Eight Pieces for Four Timpani in its first complete performance on CD. It is performed by Speculum and New York Philharmonic percussion virtuoso Daniel Druckman, son of the late, great American composer Jacob Druckman.

Product Notes

Volume Four of Bridge''s outstanding Elliott Carter series features one of his masterpieces, Eight Pieces for Four Timpani, along with fascinating recent shorter works. Virtuoso guitarist David Starobin makes the most of "Shard," which packs more harmonic and rhythmic variety into its kaleidoscopic two and a half minutes than many much longer works. "Shard" reappears within the longer Luimen, a delicately colored piece that exploits its unusual instrumentation--trumpet and trombone joining the plucked instruments guitar, mandolin, harp, and vibraphone. Tempo e Tempi is a cycle of eight songs to poems by Italian poets for soprano and a quartet of winds and strings, fascinating in its rhythmic complexity and coloristic subtleties. Soprano Susan Narucki is the flawless high-flying soprano, coaxing lovely melodies from Carter''s uncompromising writing. The timpani piece is bound to be a favorite of anyone with a taste for percussion instruments or with the curiosity to discover how much variety and nuance can be derived from the instrument. It''s brilliantly performed here by Daniel Druckman. Bridge''s first-class sonics and informative booklet notes add to the attraction of a must-have CD for Carterites and anyone interested in contemporary music. --Dan Davis

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials Sales, Promotions & Special Features Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with