Monteverdi: Madrigals, Book 5 (CD) ~ Monteverdi Cover Art

Madrigals Book 5

By: C. Monteverdi

List Price: $8.99
Current Price: $8.99
You Save: $1.45 (13%)
Download MP3

Also available from:

Provider Name Price From Condition Buy
1   CD Universe $14.09 New Buy

Track Listing

MP3 Downloads Album                  CD Universe Album
DISC 1 for Madrigals Book 5 Album By C. Monteverdi iTunes CD Universe
1   Cruda Amarilli, che col nome ancora: Cruda Amarilli (Cruel Amaryllis) Buy Buy  
2   O Mirtillo, Mirtillo anima mia: O Mirtillo Buy Buy  
3   Era l'anima mia: Era l'anima mia (My spirit) Buy Buy  
4   Ecco, Silvio, colei che in odio hai tanto: 1a parte - Ecco, Silvio, colei (Lo, Silvio) Buy Buy  
5   Ecco, Silvio, colei che in odio hai tanto: 2a parte - Ma, se con la pieta (Yet, if your innate kindness) Buy Buy  
6   Ecco, Silvio, colei che in odio hai tanto: 3a parte - Dorinda, ah, diro mia (Dorinda, ah shall I call you mine) Buy Buy  
7   Ecco, Silvio, colei che in odio hai tanto: 4a parte - Ecco, piegando le genocchie (Lo, I bend my knees) Buy Buy  
8   Ecco, Silvio, colei che in odio hai tanto: 5a parte - Ferir quel petto, Silvio? (Pierce your breast, Silvio?) Buy Buy  
9   Ch'io t'ami, e t'ami piu della mia vita: 1a parte - Ch'io t'ami (If, cruel girl) Buy Buy  
10   Ch'io t'ami, e t'ami piu della mia vita: 2a parte - Deh, bella e cara (Ah, beloved, fair) Buy Buy  
11   Ch'io t'ami, e t'ami piu della mia vita: 3a parte - Ma tu, piu che mai dura (But, harder of heart) Buy Buy  
12   Che dar piu vi poss'io?: Che dar piu vi poss'io? (What more can I give you?) Buy Buy  
13   M'e piu dolce il penar per Amarilli: M'e piu dolce il penar per Amarilli (The pain I suffer for Amaryllis) Buy Buy  
14   Ahi come a un vago sol cortese giro: Ahi, come a un vago sol (Alas, as if toward a graceful, lovely sun) Buy Buy  
15   Troppo ben puo questo tiranno Amore: Troppo ben puo (Tyrannous love) Buy Buy  
16   Amor, se giusto sei: Amor, se giusto sei (Love, if you are just) Buy Buy  
17   T'amo, mia vita' la mia cara vita: T'amo, mia vita! (I love you my beloved!) Buy Buy  
18   E cosi a poco a poco: E cosi, a poco a poco (And thus, little by little) Buy Buy  
19   Questi vaghi concenti: Questi vaghi concenti (These lovely songs) Buy Buy  

Product Description

Customer Reviews for "Madrigals Book 5" by C. Monteverdi

There are no customer reviews yet. Be the first to write a review!

Submit your Review

Run a Quick Search on "Madrigals Book 5" by C. Monteverdi to Browse Related Products:

Browse more products related to "Madrigals Book 5"

Browse more products related to "C. Monteverdi"

Product Notes

Monteverdi (1567-1643) was regarded as an innovator by some, a violator of tradition by others. His Fifth Book of Madrigals, published in 1605, bears the subtitle "La seconda prattica," (in the composer's words: "Second Practice, or the Perfection of Modern Music"). It was very successful, but one reactionary critic described it as "the imperfection of modern music." Indeed this volume introduced a change into the texture, form, and expressive content of the madrigal, making the "rhetoric (the words) the mistress of harmony, not its handmaiden." To do this, Monteverdi used all available musical means, enlarging the customary complement of five voices, dividing them into solos, duets and trios, and adding instruments functioning both supportively and autonomously. The 19 madrigals recorded here are all on the theme of unrequited love. They include one cycle of three and one of five songs; each constitutes a veritable operatic scene, with the rejected lovers engaging in passionate pleading and anguished lamentation. The music is meltingly, heart-breakingly beautiful. Ranging from dark and somber, intense and ardent to lively, agitated and buoyant, its emotional impact is direct and immediate; even the complex counterpoint serves an expressive purpose. The instruments underline and comment on mood and character and provide improvisatory connections between songs and sections. True to its name, Delitiae Musicae, an all-male vocal ensemble with period instruments, gives a delightful, multi-faceted performance. The sound has both clarity and substance; the voices, virtually unvibrated, are pure, flexible, full of color and variety; every musical line and emotional nuance comes out. --Edith Eisler

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials Sales, Promotions & Special Features Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with