London Calling (CD) ~ The Clash (Artist) Cover Art

Brand New Cadillac

By: The Clash

Price from: $0.99
Provider: Amazon US
Availability: Download available
Also Available in: [CD]

The Clash Artist Snapshot:

The Clash was one of the first and most important British punk bands. In the 1970s, they were the Beatles to the Sex Pistols' Stones, and went on to incorporate elements from all the roots music they loved--reggae, rockabilly, soul, blues--without ever straying too far from their punk roots and their political commitment. Their landmark 1979 double album, LONDON CALLING, stands as one of the finest achievements of rock's post-Beatles era. Mick Jones, Paul Simonon, and Joe Strummer all went on to other projects after the Clash (Big Audio Dynamite, Havana 3 AM, Strummer's solo albums). Plans to reunite for their induction to the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame were pre-empted by the passing of Joe Strummer in December of 2002.

Other tracks from this album

MP3 Downloads
DISC 1 for London Calling Album By The Clash CD Universe
1   London Calling Buy  
2   Brand New Cadillac Buy  
3   Jimmy Jazz Buy  
4   Hateful Buy  
5   Rudie Can't Fail Buy  
6   Spanish Bombs Buy  
7   The Right Profile Buy  
8   Lost In The Supermarket Buy  
9   Clampdown Buy  
10   The Guns Of Brixton Buy  
11   Wrong 'Em Boyo Buy  
12   Death Or Glory Buy  
13   Koka Kola Buy  
14   The Card Cheat Buy  
15   Lover's Rock Buy  
16   Four Horsemen Buy  
17   I'm Not Down Buy  
18   Revolution Rock Buy  
19   Train In Vain Buy  

Product Description

Customer Reviews for "London Calling" by The Clash

Average Customer Review
5 out of 5 stars ( [1 customer review

Share your thoughts with other customers:
 [Submit your ReviewSubmit your Review

Most Recent Customer Reviews
5 out of 5 stars Icons of great rock., May 8, 2008
By Punks NOT Dead!
Too good to be confined by the definition of punk? Maybe. From any point of view, this is wellcrafted, original, and urgent music.

Run a Quick Search on "London Calling" The Clash to Browse Related Products:

Browse more products related to "London Calling"

Browse more products related to "The Clash"

Album Description

Digitally remastered from the original production master tapes, this a reissue of the 1979 & third album by 'the only band that matters'. Features the original artwork and all 19 of the original tracks, including the hidden hit 'Train In Vain (Stand By Me)', their first U.S. single to chart (it reached #23 at the time). Also contains reproductions of the original LP sleeves, including the lyrics. 1999 release.

Product Notes

Bursting at the seams with creative energy, the Clash's stunning 1979 double album more than made up for the artistic and commercial disappointment of its predecessor, 1978's tried-too-hard Give 'Em Enough Rope. With ex-Mott the Hoople producer Guy Stevens harnessing their sound as never before, the band yielded what proved to be the best work of their career. Bouncing from hard rock (the apocalyptic vision of the title track) to rockabilly ("Brand New Cadillac") to reggae ("Rudy Can't Fail") to pop (the Top 40 hit "Train in Vain"), the Clash knocked down all musical walls and, in the process, ended the argument over punk's viability in the U.S. --Billy Altman

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials Sales, Promotions & Special Features Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with