The Legend (CD) ~ Johnny Cash (Artist) Cover Art

The Legend (CD)

By: Johnny Cash

List Price: $49.98
Current Price: $31.29
You Save: $18.69 (37%)
Download MP3

Also available from:

Provider Name Price From Condition Buy
1   Walmart $31.29 New Buy
2 $41.40 New Buy
3   CD Universe $45.85 New Buy
4   HBDirect $51.83 New Buy

Johnny Cash Artist Snapshot:

Johnny Cash was part rockabilly rebel, part campfire storyteller, part outlaw in black. Cash made country and rockabilly history on the Sun label in the 1950s. During the '60s, the ruggedly charismatic Cash rose to superstardom, ending the decade with both his marriage to June Carter and his own television show. In the '90s, Cash began his highly successful and acclaimed AMERICAN RECORDINGS series, reaching a new audience with an amazingly diverse set of songs, ranging from traditional tunes to alternative rock covers. With his lean, angular sound and hearty, passionate baritone, Cash forged one of the most unique styles in all of popular music, one that delved into gospel, folk, and rock, but also remained the essence of country music. Four months after his wife died, Johnny Cash passed away on September 12, 2003. And in 2005, the Oscar-nominated biopic WALK THE LINE brought Cash's music and legend to his largest audience yet.

Track Listing

MP3 Downloads
DISC 1 for The Legend (CD) Album By Johnny Cash CD Universe
1   I Walk the Line  
2   There You Go  
3   Home of the Blues  
4   Ballad of a Teenage Queen  
5   Guess Things Happen That Way  
6   Ways of a Woman in Love  
7   Don't Take Your Guns to Town  
8   Ring of Fire  
9   Matador  
10   Understand Your Man  
11   Ballad of Ira Hayes  
12   Orange Blossom Special  
13   One on the Right Is on the Left  
14   Rosanna's Going Wild  
15   Folsom Prison Blues  
16   Daddy Sang Blues  
17   Boy Named Sue  
18   What Is Truth  
19   Sunday Mornin' Comin' Down  
20   Flesh and Blood  
21   Man in Black  
22   Thing Called Love  
23   Kate  
24   Oney  
25   Any Old Wind That Blows  
26   One Piece at a Time  
27   (Ghost) Riders in the Sky  
DISC 2 for The Legend (CD) Album By Johnny Cash CD Universe
1   Hey Porter  
2   Cry, Cry, Cry  
3   Luther Played the Boogie  
4   Get Rhythm  
5   Give My Love to Rose  
6   I Was There When It Happened  
7   Big River  
8   I Still Miss Someone  
9   Pickin' Time  
10   Man on the Hill  
11   Five Feet High and Rising  
12   Tennessee Flat-Top Box  
13   I Got Stripes  
14   Troublesome Waters  
15   Long Black Veil  
16   Dark as a Dungeon  
17   Wall  
18   25 Minutes to Go  
19   Cocaine Blues  
20   Doin' My Time [#]  
21   I Will Rock and Roll With You  
22   Without Love  
23   Big Light  
24   Highway Patrolman  
25   I'm Never Gonna Roam Again [#]  
26   When I'm Gray [#]  
27   Forever Young  
DISC 3 for The Legend (CD) Album By Johnny Cash CD Universe
1   Wreck of the Old 97  
2   Rock Island Line  
3   Goodnight Irene  
4   Goodbye, Little Darlin'  
5   Born to Lose  
6   Walking the Blues  
7   Frankie's Man, Johnny  
8   Delia's Gone  
9   In the Jailhouse Now  
10   Waiting for a Train  
11   Casey Jones  
12   Legend of John Henry's Hammer  
13   I've Been Working on the Railroad [#]  
14   Sweet Betsy from Pike  
15   Streets of Laredo  
16   Bury Me Not on the Lone Prairie  
17   Down in the Valley [#]  
18   Wabash Cannonball  
19   Great Speckle Bird  
20   Wildwood Flower  
21   Cotton Fields  
22   Pick a Bale O' Cotton  
23   Old Shep  
24   I'll Be All Smiles Tonight  
25   I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry  
26   Time Changes Everything  
DISC 4 for The Legend (CD) Album By Johnny Cash CD Universe
1   Keep on the Sunny Side  
2   Diamonds in the Rough  
3   (There'll Be) Peace in the Valley  
4   Were You There (When They Crucified My Lord)  
5   Another Man Done Gone  
6   Pick the Wildwood Flower  
7   Jackson  
8   If I Were a Carpenter  
9   Girl from the North Country  
10   One More Ride  
11   You Can't Beat Jesus Christ [#]  
12   There Ain't No Good Chain Gang  
13   We Oughta Be Ashamed  
14   Crazy Old Soldier  
15   Silver Haired Daddy of Mine  
16   Who's Gone Autry?  
17   Night Hank Williams Came to Town  
18   I Walk the Lined (Revisited)  
19   Highwayman  
20   Wanderer  
21   September When It Comes  
22   Tears in the Holston River  
23   Far Side Banks of Jordan  
24   It Takes One to Know Me [#]  
25   KWEM Announcements And Advertisements  
26   Johnny Cash Show Intro And Theme  
27   Wide Open Road  
28   Home Equipment Company Advertisement  
29   One More Ride  
30   Home Equipment Company Advertisement/Luther Perkins Intro  
31   Luther's Boogie  
32   Belshazzar Intro  
33   Belshazzar  
34   Closing Comments And Theme  

Product Description

Run a Quick Search on "The Legend" by Johnny Cash to Browse Related Products:

Browse more products related to "The Legend"

Browse more products related to "Johnny Cash"

Product Notes

There are several Cash boxes available, but The Legend--spanning the years 1955-2002 but concentrating on his long tenure at Columbia and, to a lesser degree, his beginnings at Sun--probably belongs at the top of the list. Cash's greatest strengths are dramatized on these four, thematically programmed discs: Win, Place and Show: The Hits; Old Favorites and New; The Great American Songbook (mostly traditional songs); and Family and Friends (collaborations). For starters, consider the staggering depth and breadth of his repertoire (perhaps matched only by those of Bob Dylan and Ray Charles), embracing ancient folk tunes ("Streets of Laredo"), teen pop ("Ballad of a Teenage Queen"), mature contemporary rock ("Highway Patrolman"), gospel ("Were You There When They Crucified My Lord"), topical fare ("Ballad of Ira Hayes"), country standards ("Time Changes Everything"), novelties ("One Piece at a Time"), and more. Then there's the way his spare, spacious sound opens up to take in horns ("Ring of Fire"), strings ("Sunday Mornin' Comin' Down"), anything. The Legend includes seven previously unissued sides, most prominently "It Takes One to Know Me," a stirring salute to his wife June. --John Morthland

NOTE: There is also a deluxe limited edition of The Legend, featuring a lithograph, a bonus disc, and a DVD, and housed in a 120-page, 12" x 16" hardcover book.

Customer Reviews for "The Legend (CD)" by Johnny Cash

There are no customer reviews yet. Be the first to write a review!

Submit your Review

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials Sales, Promotions & Special Features Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with