Leadbelly Sings For Children (CD) ~ Leadbelly (Artist) Cover Art

Leadbelly Sings For Children

By: Leadbelly

Provider: Amazon US
Availability: Download available
Also Available in: [CD]

Track Listing

MP3 Downloads
Amazon.com Album                 
DISC 1 for Leadbelly Sings For Children Album By Leadbelly Amazon.com iTunes
1   More Yet Buy Buy
2   Boll Weevil Buy Buy
3   Little Boy, How Old are You? Buy Buy
4   Skip to My Lou Buy Buy
5   Red Bird Buy Buy
6   Sally Walker Buy Buy
7   Ha Ha This A-Way Buy Buy
8   Grey Goose Buy Buy
9   Christmas is A-Coming (Chicken Crows at Midnight) Buy Buy
10   The Blue Tailed Fly (Jimmie Crack Corn) Buy Buy
11   Polly Wee (The Frog Song) Buy  
12   Pig Latin Song Buy Buy
13   When a Man's a Long Way from Home Buy Buy
14   Good Morning Blues Buy Buy
15   By and By When the Morning Comes Buy Buy
16   Every Time I Feel the Spirit / Swing Low, Sweet Chariot / They Hung Him on the Cross (medley) Buy Buy
17   Swing Low, Sweet Chariot Buy Buy
18   Rock Island Line Buy Buy
19   Cotton Fields Buy Buy
20   Old Man Buy Buy
21   John Henry Buy Buy
22   Julie Ann Johnson Buy Buy
23   Whoa Back Buck Buy Buy
24   You Can't Lose Me Cholly Buy Buy
25   Midnight Special Buy Buy
26   Pick a Bale of Cotton Buy Buy
27   Take This Hammer Buy Buy
28   We're in the Same Boat, Brother Buy Buy

Product Description

Customer Reviews for "Leadbelly Sings For Children" by Leadbelly

There are no customer reviews yet. Be the first to write a review!

Submit your Review

Run a Quick Search on "Leadbelly Sings For Children" Leadbelly to Browse Related Products:

Browse more products related to "Leadbelly Sings For Children"

Browse more products related to "Leadbelly"

Album Description

This new collection features delightful songs for young children as well as the work songs, blues, and spirituals Lead Belly used to teach children about the experiences and emotions of adult life. Originally reocrded in children''s concerts and studios for asch and Folkways records in the 1940s, the 28 songs and spoken introductions reveal the humor, humanity, and musical genius of one of the great artists of the twentieth century. Essential listening for all ages. Produced by Moses Asch. Reissue compiled and annotated by Jeff Place.

Product Notes

Leadbelly wasn''t exactly the Raffi of the Roosevelt era. Convicted of attempted murder and murder, the man born Huddie Leadbelly on January 20, 1888, in Mooringsport, Louisiana, began forging a career as a performer in the 1930s after his discovery by John and Alan Lomax. By then he''d developed an enormous repertoire as well deft vocal and instrumental skills. Despite his sordid past, Leadbelly won over adults and children alike; this generous 28-song collection demonstrates the source of his pied-piper appeal. While the master of the 12-string guitar drew upon traditional kid fare ("Skip to My Lou," "Blue-Tailed Fly"), he recognized that plenty of goodies from his adult bag of songs appealed to tykes, too. Consequently, blues, work songs, and prison numbers turn up in this gratifying collection, which consists of a 1960-released children''s LP in its entirety, plus selections from two other records and a previously unreleased radio track. --Steven Stolder

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials

Tower.com Sales, Promotions & Special Features

Tower.com Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with Tower.com