Ken Burns Jazz: The Story of American Music (CD) ~ Various Artists Cover Art

Ken Burns Jazz: The Story of America's Music

By: Louis Armstrong, Duke Ellington, Benny Goodman, Count Basie, Billie Holiday, Various Artists

Current Price: $54.95
Download MP3

Track Listing

MP3 Downloads Album                  CD Universe Album
DISC 1 for Ken Burns Jazz: The Story of America's Music Album By Louis Armstrong iTunes CD Universe
1   Star Dust (78rpm Version) Buy Buy  
2   Soon One Mornin' (Death Come A-Creepin' In My Room) Buy    
3   Memphis Blues Buy    
4   Livery Stable Blues Buy Buy  
5   Charleston Buy    
6   Chimes Blues Buy Buy  
7   Backwater Blues (78rpm Version) Buy Buy  
8   The Pearls Buy    
9   Dead Man Blues Buy Buy  
10   Wild Cat Blues Buy Buy  
11   Cake Walking Babies (From Home) Buy Buy  
12   Sugar Foot Stomp Buy Buy  
13   Heebie Jeebies Buy Buy  
14   Potato Head Blues (78rpm Version) Buy Buy  
15   West End Blues Buy Buy  
16   The Mooche (78rpm Version) Buy Buy  
17   East St. Louis Toodle-Oo Buy    
18   Black Beauty Buy Buy  
19   Mood Indigo Buy    
20   There Ain't No Sweet Man (Worth The Salt Of My Tears) Buy Buy  
21   Singin' The Blues Buy Buy  
22   Riverboat Shuffle Buy Buy  
23   Hotter Than 'Ell Buy    
24   I Got Rhythm Buy Buy  
DISC 2 for Ken Burns Jazz: The Story of America's Music Album By Louis Armstrong iTunes CD Universe
1   It Don't Mean A Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing) Buy Buy  
2   Echoes Of Harlem Buy Buy  
3   Moten Swing Buy Buy  
4   St. Louis Blues Buy Buy  
5   Ain't Misbehavin' Buy Buy  
6   For Dancers Only Buy    
7   King Porter Stomp Buy Buy  
8   Rose Room Buy Buy  
9   Sing, Sing, Sing (With A Swing) Buy Buy  
10   Jumpin' At The Woodside Buy    
11   Sent For You Yesterday And Here You Come Today Buy Buy  
12   Lester Leaps In Buy Buy  
13   Oh, Lady, Be Good! Buy Buy  
14   Without Your Love Buy Buy  
15   Strange Fruit Buy Buy  
16   God Bless The Child Buy Buy  
17   Three Little Words Buy    
18   Rebecca Buy    
19   Harlem Congo Buy    
20   A-Tisket A-Tasket (Excerpt) Buy    
21   Shine Buy Buy  
22   Dear Old Southland Buy Buy  
DISC 3 for Ken Burns Jazz: The Story of America's Music Album By Louis Armstrong iTunes CD Universe
1   Body And Soul Buy Buy  
2   Cotton Tail Buy Buy  
3   Take the "A" Train (1986 Remastered) Buy Buy  
4   Begin The Beguine Buy Buy  
5   In The Mood Buy Buy  
6   Well, Git It! Buy Buy  
7   Solitude (78rpm Version) Buy Buy  
8   Drum Boogie Buy Buy  
9   Salt Peanuts Buy    
10   Groovin' High Buy    
11   Ko-Ko Buy    
12   Scrapple From The Apple Buy    
13   Embraceable You Buy    
14   Get Happy Buy    
15   Epistrophy Buy    
16   Straight, No Chaser Buy Buy  
17   Manteca Buy Buy  
18   Moon Dreams Buy    
19   Just Friends Buy    
20   Rockin' Chair Buy Buy  
21   They Can't Take That Away From Me Buy    
22   Walkin' Shoes Buy    
23   Fine And Mellow Buy Buy  
DISC 4 for Ken Burns Jazz: The Story of America's Music Album By Louis Armstrong iTunes CD Universe
1   Doodlin' Buy    
2   I Get A Kick Out Of You Buy    
3   St. Thomas Buy    
4   Django Buy    
5   Take Five Buy Buy  
6   So What Buy Buy  
7   Giant Steps Buy    
8   Rick Kick Shaw Buy    
9   Chronology Buy    
10   Original Faubus Fables Buy    
11   Acknowledgement [from A Love Supreme] Buy    
DISC 5 for Ken Burns Jazz: The Story of America's Music Album By Louis Armstrong iTunes CD Universe
1   Hello, Dolly! Buy    
2   Desafinado Buy    
3   In A Sentimental Mood Buy    
4   Tourist Point Of View Buy Buy  
5   E.S.P. Buy Buy  
6   Spanish Key Buy Buy  
7   Birdland Buy Buy  
8   Mister Magic Buy Buy  
9   Rockit Buy Buy  
10   Un Ange En Danger Buy    
11   Tanya Buy Buy  
12   Soon All Will Know Buy Buy  
13   Death Letter Buy    

Product Description

Customer Reviews for "Ken Burns Jazz: The Story of America's Music" by Louis Armstrong

There are no customer reviews yet. Be the first to write a review!

Submit your Review

Run a Quick Search on "Ken Burns Jazz: The Story of America's Music" by Louis Armstrong to Browse Related Products:

Album Description

No Description Available
No Track Information Available
Media Type: CD
Street Release Date: 11/14/2000

Product Notes

This five-CD box set soundtrack to filmmaker Ken Burns's 10-part, 19-hour documentary Jazz spans nearly a century of jazz styles, from the martial rhythms of James Reese Europe to the soul-jazz of Grover Washington Jr. It includes time-tested classics like Benny Goodman's 1938 classic, "Sing, Sing, Sing"; John Coltrane's chanting 1965 immortal track, "A Love Supreme"; Billie Holiday's blue-ember ballad, "God Bless the Child"; and Ella Fitzgerald peeling off "A-Tisket A-Tasket." Bebop is represented by Charlie Parker's orchestral bop version of "Just Friends"; Thelonious Monk's nocturnal calling card, "'Round Midnight"; and Dizzy Gillespie's "Salt Peanuts" and "Groovin' High."

The jazz-instrumentalist-as-singer comes to life on Coleman Hawkins's "Body and Soul" and Horace Silver and the Jazz Messengers' "Doodlin'." Clifford Brown and Max Roach's "I Get a Kick out of You" epitomizes the hard-bop era, while Miles Davis's "So What" stands as the modal masterpiece. The cool school is in session with Chet Baker and Gerry Mulligan dishing out "Walkin' Shoes," and the Modern Jazz Quartet's soulful elegy "Django" straddles all the above musical orbits. As for Django Reinhardt, he's featured on "Shine" with the justly famed Le Quartet du Hot Club de France.

Louis Armstrong's "West End Blues" and "Potato Head Blues" and Duke Ellington's rousing rendition of Billy Strayhorn's anthem, "Take the A Train," and his moody "Solitude" show why they are the Olympian masters of this art form--and the most frequently featured artists in the series. Although Ken Burns tries bringing the music up-to-date with Wynton Marsalis, Cassandra Wilson, and two jazz-hip-hop-influenced tracks--Herbie Hancock's robotic "Rockit" and the French-language "Un Aige en Danger" by MC Solaar and bass legend Ron Carter--there are significant holes here. After Cecil Taylor and Ornette Coleman, the avant-garde period from the late 1960s to the 1980s is lacking. And aside from the bossa nova hit "Desafinado," Latin jazz is also missing. It's a tough task summarizing jazz in five CDs, and Burns has given us a vibrant and vivid multicolored aural portrait of the music. --Eugene Holley Jr.

If You Enjoy "Ken Burns Jazz: The Story of America's Music", May We Also Recommend:

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials Sales, Promotions & Special Features Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with