Journey into Paradise: The Larry Levan Story (CD) ~ Larry Levan ... Cover Art

Journey Into Paradise: The Larry Levan Story (CD)

By: Larry Levan (Artist)

List Price: $26.96
Current Price: $15.26
You Save: $11.70 (43%)
Download MP3

Also available from:

Provider Name Price From Condition Buy
1   HBDirect $18.87 New Buy
2 $20.00 New Buy
3   FYE $22.98 New Buy
4   CD Universe $26.65 New Buy

Larry Levan Artist Snapshot:

Larry Levan is a disco legend. As the founder of the hugely influential Paradise Garage nightclub in New York City, as well as its most popular DJ, Levan is considered by many to be one of the greatest DJs of all time. His ingenious mix of funk and disco provided the stylistic blueprint for the house, garage, and Hi-NRG genres, and became the musical foundation for an entirely new clubland experience. Levan was also a well-known remixer and producer and created glorious extended dance edits of disco gems that remain staples in many a spinner's crate to this day. A notorious party man himself, Levan succumbed to a drug-related heart ailment in 1992.

Track Listing

MP3 Downloads Album                 
DISC 1 for Journey Into Paradise: The Larry Levan Story (CD) Album By Larry Levan (Artist) iTunes
1   Paradise (Remastered Version) Buy Buy
2   Weekend (12" Extended Version) (Remastered) Buy Buy
3   Clouds (2006 Remastered Version) Buy Buy
4   Haven't You Heard (Remastered 12" Single Version) Buy Buy
5   We Got The Funk (Remastered 12" U.S. Re-edit Version) Buy Buy
6   Smack Dab In The Middle (12" Version) (Remastered) Buy Buy
7   Bad For Me (Remastered 12" Long Version) Buy Buy
8   Heartbeat (Club Version) (Remastered) Buy  
9   You Can't Hide (Your Love From Me) (Remastered 12" Single Version) Buy  
10   Love Honey, Love Heartache (Remastered 12" Vocal Version) Buy  
11   Don't Make Me Wait (Remastered 12" Extended Version) Buy  
12   Baby I'm Scared Of You (Remastered LP Version) Buy Buy
13   Lost In Music (1984 Bernard Edwards & Nile Rogers Remix) (Remastered) Buy Buy
14   Why Leave Us Alone (Remastered 12" Long Version) Buy  
15   Love Injection (Remastered LP Version) Buy Buy
16   Can't Play Around (12" Vocal Version) (Remastered) Buy Buy
17   Ain't No Mountain High Enough (The Garage Version) (Remastered) Buy  
18   It Should Have Been You (12" Vocal Version) (Remastered) Buy  
19   A Lovers Holiday (Remastered 12" Version) Buy Buy
20   Situation (U.S. 12" Mix) (Remastered Version) Buy Buy
21   Once In A Lifetime (2006 Remastered Version ) Buy Buy
22   Love Has Come Around (Remastered 12" Single Version) Buy Buy
DISC 2 for Journey Into Paradise: The Larry Levan Story (CD) Album By Larry Levan (Artist) iTunes
1   Baby I'm Scared of You -- Womack & Womack    
2   Lost in Music -- Sister Sledge    
3   Why Leave Us Alone -- Five Special    
4   Love Injection -- Trussel    
5   Can't Play Around -- Lace    
6   Ain't No Mountain High Enough -- Inner Life    
7   It Should Have Been You -- Gwen Guthrie    
8   Lover's Holiday -- Change    
9   Situation -- Yaz    
10   Once in a Lifetime -- Talking Heads    

Product Description

Run a Quick Search on "Journey Into Paradise: The Larry Levan Story" by Larry Levan to Browse Related Products:

Browse more products related to "Journey Into Paradise: The Larry Levan Story"

Browse more products related to "Larry Levan"

Album Description

One of the few truly legendary figures in the universe of contemporary dance music, the late, great Larry Levan revolutionized the art of the DJ with his soulful and eclectic sets, insanely audiophile rig, and consummate flair as both an innovative remixer and visionary turntable artist. Revered for the pulsing dance floor magic he created as resident DJ ast New York City's famed Paradise Garage- perhaps the most revered club in dance music history - Levan merged underground hits with popular classics of every genre to take the communal dance experience to new heights. A seminal figure in both the disco-defined '70s and house-centric '80s, his innovations reshaped dance music itself and influenced every DJ who would follow.

Product Notes

Love disco, but burned out on "We Are Family" and the Saturday Night Fever soundtrack? Journey Into Paradise: The Larry Levan Story will satisfy your thirst for lost dance nuggets, with 22 lesser-known tracks from the likes of Chaka Khan, Sister Sledge, and many more. As DJ of NYC's Paradise Garage in the '70s and '80s, Larry Levan created a downtown alternative to the high gloss of Studio 54's exclusive celebrity scene, combining up-tempo R&B dance music with a potpourri of other styles. The Journey Into Paradise collection honors the Garage vibe by focusing mainly on unstoppable disco-era jams--if Change's top 10 R&B charting "Paradise" doesn't get your booty shaking, have a friend check your pulse--with a dose of the modern dance sounds of Yaz and Talking Heads thrown in for variety. The nine tracks included here mixed by Levan contain lush disco arrangements that break down into extended sections of beats and voice backed by minimal accompaniment, anticipating the distilled sound of the house music that would later come to rule the dance floors. On the turntable or in your car stereo, these songs paint the picture of a disco scene more focused on the music than the latest fashion, where feeling good was more important than looking good and a great beat washed away the cares of the world. --Ben Heege

Customer Reviews for "Journey Into Paradise: The Larry Levan Story (CD)" by Larry Levan (Artist)

There are no customer reviews yet. Be the first to write a review!

Submit your Review

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials Sales, Promotions & Special Features Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with