Hymn for the World 2 / Bartoli, Bocelli, Terfel, Chung (CD) ~ Hy... Cover Art

Price from: $0.99
Provider: Amazon US
Availability: Download available
Also Available in: [CD]

Other tracks from this album

MP3 Downloads
Amazon.com Album                 
DISC 1 for Hymn for the World 2 / Bartoli, Bocelli, Terfel, Chung (CD) Album By Cecilia Bartoli [Mezzo-Soprano... Amazon.com iTunes
1   Vespro della Beata Vergine - Domine ad adiuvandum a 6 Buy Buy
2   Mass in B minor, BWV 232 / Gloria - Qui sedes ad dexteram Patris Buy Buy
3   Vesperae solennes de confessore in C, K.339 - 5. Laudate Dominum omnes gentes (Ps. 116/117) Buy Buy
4   Requiem in D minor, K.626 (compl. by Franz Xaver Süssmayer) - 3. Sequentia: Lacrimosa Buy Buy
5   Die Schöpfung Hob. XXI:2 / Erster Teil - 10. Chor: Stimmt an die Saiten Buy Buy
6   Mass No.6 in E flat, D.950 - Sanctus Buy Buy
7   Locus Iste (Motet) Buy Buy
8   Nabucco / Act 3 - Chorus: "Va, pensiero, sull'ali dorate" Buy Buy
9   Ave Maria: arr. from Bach's Prelude No.1 BWV 846 Buy Buy
10   Requiem, Op.48 - 4. Pie Jesu Buy Buy
11   Requiem, Op.48 - 6. Libera me Buy Buy
12   Requiem - Sanctus Buy Buy
13   Gloria - Gloria in excelsis Deo Buy Buy
14   Song for Athene Buy Buy

Product Description

Run a Quick Search on "Hymn for the World 2 / Bartoli, Bocelli, Terfel, Chung" Cecilia Bartoli [Mezzo-Soprano] to Browse Related Products:

Product Notes

This is the second installment in a recording project originally inspired by Pope John Paul II's visit to Paris in 1997 to celebrate the Worldwide Days of Youth. A surprisingly effective anthology of mostly sacred liturgical music, the selections here occasionally give the impression of "bleeding chunks" (as in the majestic opener from one of Monteverdi's sublimest creations, the 1610 Vespers) but have been chosen with imagination. Chung coordinates his forces in larger choral pieces with power and vertical balance, making a standout of the Beethovenian mystery and drive apparent in the "Sanctus" from Schubert's Mass in E-flat. Contributions by Cecilia Bartoli find the mezzo in top form--listen to her finely spun line interweave with the oboe d'amore in a selection from Bach's B Minor Mass--and as evocative as bright stained glass in Fauré's "Pie Jesu." Bryn Terfel brings charismatic presence to his one selection here (also from the Fauré Requiem). Also included are the interminable "Song for Athene" by John Taverner and a sentimental but earnest performance by Andrea Bocelli in Eric Levi's hymn for the world, "I Believe." --Thomas May

Customer Reviews for "Hymn for the World 2 / Bartoli, Bocelli, Terfel, Chung (CD)" by Cecilia Bartoli [Mezzo-Soprano...

There are no customer reviews yet. Be the first to write a review!

Submit your Review

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials

Tower.com Sales, Promotions & Special Features

Tower.com Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with Tower.com