Historicity (CD) ~ Vijay Iyer (Artist) Cover Art

Smoke Stack

By: Vijay Iyer

Price from: $0.89
Provider: Amazon US
Availability: Download available
Also Available in: [CD]

Other tracks from this album

MP3 Downloads
Amazon.com Album                 
DISC 1 for Historicity (CD) Album By Vijay Iyer Amazon.com iTunes
1   Historicity Buy Buy
2   Somewhere Buy Buy
3   Galang (Trio Riot Version) Buy Buy
4   Helix Buy Buy
5   Smoke Stack Buy Buy
6   Big Brother Buy Buy
7   Dogon A.D. Buy Buy
8   Mystic Brew Buy Buy
9   Trident: 2010 Buy Buy

Product Description

Run a Quick Search on "Historicity" Vijay Iyer to Browse Related Products:

Browse more products related to "Historicity"

Browse more products related to "Vijay Iyer"

Album Description

"A boundless and deeply important young star." -- LA Weekly

"One of the most exciting new voices in jazz." -- Boston Globe

"One of the scene''s most original players." -- The Wire

"One of the most original and accomplished young pianists in years." -- Village Voice

"A formidable force ... startlingly effective and unflinchingly forward-looking." -- Chicago Tribune

"A total triumph from beginning to end." -- All About Jazz

"Unfailingly imaginative and significant." -- JazzTimes

"One of the most intellectually restless improvising musicians in the world these days." -- Chicago Reader

* Twice voted the #1 Rising Star Jazz Artist and Rising Star Composer in DownBeat''s International Critics'' Poll, Vijay Iyer is a largely self-taught creative musician grounded in the American jazz lexicon and drawing from a range of Western and non-Western traditions.
* His widely acclaimed recordings on innovative labels like Pi Recordings, Sunnyside, and Savoy Jazz include Panoptic Modes (2001), Blood Sutra (2003), Reimagining (2005), Tragicomic (2008), Your Life Flashes (2002), Simulated Progress (2005), Door (2008), Raw Materials (2006), and many more.
* Historicity is informed by the constant transformative relationship between past and present. "It''s just a condition of being alive," Iyer says. "We''re always shaped by history, even as we reach into the future."
* Independent promoter Matt Merewitz will handle print promotion.
* Ads with DownBeat. Vijay Iyer: piano Stephan Crump: bass Marcus Gilmore: drums
* Historicity
* Somewhere
* Galang [Trio Riot Version]
* Helix
* Smoke Stack
* Big Brother
* Dogon A.D.
* Mystic Brew
* Trident: 2010
* Segment For Sentiment #2

Customer Reviews for "Historicity (CD)" by Vijay Iyer

There are no customer reviews yet. Be the first to write a review!

Submit your Review

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials

Tower.com Sales, Promotions & Special Features

Tower.com Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with Tower.com