Figure 8 (CD) ~ Elliott Smith (Artist) Cover Art

Everything Reminds Me Of Her

By: Elliott Smith

Price from: $0.99
Provider: Amazon US
Availability: Download available
Also Available in: [CD]  | [Vinyl LP]

Other tracks from this album

MP3 Downloads Album                  CD Universe Album
DISC 1 for Figure 8 (CD) Album By Elliott Smith iTunes CD Universe
1   Son Of Sam Buy Buy  
2   Somebody That I Used To Know Buy Buy  
3   Junk Bond Trader Buy Buy  
4   Everything Reminds Me Of Her Buy Buy  
5   Everything Means Nothing To Me Buy Buy  
6   L.A. Buy Buy  
7   In The Lost And Found (honky bach)/The Roost Buy Buy  
8   Stupidity Tries Buy Buy  
9   Easy Way Out Buy Buy  
10   Wouldn't Mama Be Proud Buy Buy  
11   Colorbars Buy Buy  
12   Happiness/The Gondola Man Buy Buy  
13   Pretty Mary Kay Buy Buy  
14   Better Be Quiet Now Buy Buy  
15   Can't Make A Sound Buy Buy  

Product Description

Run a Quick Search on "Figure 8" Elliott Smith to Browse Related Products:

Browse more products related to "Figure 8"

Browse more products related to "Elliott Smith"

Album Description

Japanese edition of the indie rock singer/songwriter''s 2000 release with two exclusive bonus tracks ''Because'' & ''Figure 8''. 18 tracks in all including the single ''Son Of Sam''. Digipak.

Product Notes

The story of Elliott Smith is well known now: Shy and reclusive indie rocker soars to a Hollywood soundstage and major-label contract. His fans gasped in collective horror when he took a bow at the 1998 Oscars, his hand clasped by Celine Dion. He seemed far too fragile to survive among the sharks and vultures on the corner of Hollywood and Vine. But as his subsequent albums XO and now Figure 8 show, Smith has weathered the spotlight successfully and is moving ahead with self-assured grace. The beauty of Figure 8 is that it encompasses Smith's musical virtues, from the stark and wispy tunes of his lo-fi beginnings on Roman Candle to the orchestrated, Beatlesesque pomp and circumstance of later work to the intimate and sometimes painful nature of his live shows. Figure 8's opener, "Son of Sam," is as good as anything Smith has ever crafted, its soaring melody buoyed with lush instrumentation and a tin-pan-alley piano romp. "Happiness" is vintage Smith, its lyrics belying the title. But best of all are "Everything Reminds Me of Her" and "Everything Means Nothing to Me," which capture the dichotomies of Smith's music. The first is a lovely, delicate little tune--just Smith's wavering voice, a plucked guitar, and the plaintive lyrics of unabashed longing. The second is a layered soundscape, heavily produced, with washes of music covering a repeated lyrical line. One is direct, naked, and honest; the other is slippery, distant, and rational. These are the yin and yang of Smith's music, and it's the friction between the two--or, more accurately, the wreckage from one obdurate truth bashing up against the other--that makes Figure 8 resonate with such devastating power. --Tod Nelson

Customer Reviews for "Figure 8 (CD)" by Elliott Smith

There are no customer reviews yet. Be the first to write a review!

Submit your Review

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials Sales, Promotions & Special Features Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with