Every Time I Feel the Spirit (CD) ~ Nat "King" Cole (A... Cover Art

Every Time I Feel the Spirit (CD)

By: Nat King Cole

Current Price: $49.97

Track Listing

DISC 1 for Every Time I Feel the Spirit (CD) Album By Nat King Cole
1   Every Time I Feel the Spirit
2   I Want To Be Ready
3   Sweet Hour Of Prayer
4   Ain't Gonna Sutudy War No More
5   I Found the Answer
6   Standing' In the Need of Prayer
7   Oh, Mary, Don't You Weep
8   Go Down, Moses
9   Nobody Knows the Trouble I've Seen
10   In the Sweet By and By
11   I Couldn't Hear Nobody Pray
12   Steal Away
13   The First Baseball Game
14   This Holy Love
15   Peace Of Mind
16   Easter Sunday Morning
17   Believe

Product Description

Run a Quick Search on "Every Time I Feel the Spirit" by Nat King Cole to Browse Related Products:

Browse more products related to "Every Time I Feel the Spirit"

Browse more products related to "Nat King Cole"

Product Notes

Always the musical chameleon, Nat King Cole seemed tailor-made for a gospel album. In the event, though, this 1959 offering falls a little flat. Despite the best efforts of Chicago's First Church of Deliverance Choir, which provides inarguably lush accompaniment to these songs, Cole himself comes across as if he phoned in a lot of his leads. The recording itself oddly distances Cole's vocals from those of the choir, and yet a few supremely gorgeous tracks result. "Go Down Moses" and "Nobody Knows the Trouble I've Seen" outshine the rest by far, yet other, stranger cuts ("Ain't Gonna Study War No More," "The First Baseball Game") nevertheless chronicle memorable compositions via serviceable takes. Thorough collectors will revel in this first ever CD release of bonus tracks "Lighthouse in the Sky," "Easter Sunday Morning," "This Holy Love," and "Peace of Mind" (the latter two from the super-rare Where Angels Gather LP). Elsewhere, "Steal Away" and "I Found the Answer" boast Cole's laudable articulation, and upbeat numbers like "Believe" and "Oh Mary, Don't You Weep" at least approximate the pulse and thrust of divine inspiration. Yet the overall effect is one of dubious reverence. Would that Cole had felt the spirit a little more. --Jason Kirk

Customer Reviews for "Every Time I Feel the Spirit (CD)" by Nat King Cole

There are no customer reviews yet. Be the first to write a review!

Submit your Review

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials

Tower.com Sales, Promotions & Special Features

Tower.com Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with Tower.com