The Essential Ray Price (1951-1962) (CD) ~ Ray Price (Artist) Cover Art

The Essential Ray Price, 1951-1962 (CD)

By: Ray Price

List Price: $6.99
Current Price: $5.39
You Save: $1.60 (23%)
Download MP3

Also available from:

Provider Name Price From Condition Buy
1   CD Universe $6.75 New Buy
2 $7.65 New Buy
3   FYE $7.99 New Buy
4   HBDirect $9.49 New Buy

Ray Price Artist Snapshot:

Texan country singer Ray Price got the best possible start by having Hank Williams himself for a mentor. After Williams's death, Price began using Hank's Drifting Cowboys as a backup band and performing in a remarkably similar style. After putting together a new band to find his own sound, he essentially invented the 4/4 country shuffle, replacing the traditional country 2/4 beat. This combination of honky-tonk and Western Swing both influenced a whole school of country and helped pave the way for rockabilly. Besides his voluminous body of solo work, Price was also known for his latter-day collaborations with Willie Nelson, whose "Night Life" had been an early-'60s Price hit.

Track Listing

MP3 Downloads
DISC 1 for The Essential Ray Price, 1951-1962 (CD) Album By Ray Price iTunes
1   If You're Ever Lonely Darling Buy Buy
2   The Road Of No Return Buy Buy
3   Talk To Your Heart (Single Version) Buy Buy
4   Move On In And Stay Buy Buy
5   I'll Be There (If You Ever Want Me) (78rpm Version) Buy Buy
6   Release Me Buy Buy
7   I Can't Go Home Like This Buy Buy
8   You Done Me Wrong Buy Buy
9   Falling Falling Falling Buy Buy
10   Wasted Words Buy Buy
11   Crazy Arms Buy Buy
12   I've Got A New Heartache Buy Buy
13   My Shoes Keep Walking Back To You (Single Version) Buy Buy
14   Invitation To The Blues (Single Version) Buy Buy
15   City Lights (Single Version) Buy Buy
16   Heartaches By The Number Buy Buy
17   The Same Old Me Buy Buy
18   One More Time Buy Buy
19   Heart Over Mind Buy Buy

Product Description

Run a Quick Search on "The Essential Ray Price, 1951-1962" by Ray Price to Browse Related Products:

Browse more products related to "The Essential Ray Price, 1951-1962"

Browse more products related to "Ray Price"

Product Notes

Before moving to the greener pastures of string-heavy countrypolitan, Price was a challenger for the honky-tonk crown. These 20 songs marvelously outline the rapid development of Price's emerging style. His 1951 debut, Lefty Frizzell's "If You're Ever Lonely Darling," finds Price emulating Frizzell's sweet delivery, while two ballads from the following year show Price firmly in Hank Williams territory. By 1953, his voice matured into a booming force, balancing the early sweetness with a hint of spice and a new vigor. The defining moment came in 1956 with the release of "Crazy Arms" and the unveiling of the Western swing-influenced "Ray Price Shuffle." From that point, Price would consistently feature this smooth and steady beat, even covering Bob Wills's "My Shoes Keep Walking Back to You." --Marc Greilsamer

Customer Reviews for "The Essential Ray Price, 1951-1962 (CD)" by Ray Price

There are no customer reviews yet. Be the first to write a review!

Submit your Review

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials Sales, Promotions & Special Features Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with