The Essential Ramblin' Jack Elliott (CD) ~ Ramblin' Jack Elliott... Cover Art

Tennessee Stud

By: Ramblin' Jack Elliot

Price from: $0.99
Provider: Amazon US
Availability: Download available
Also Available in: [CD]

Ramblin' Jack Elliott Artist Snapshot:

Born Elliott Adnopoz in Brooklyn, Ramblin' Jack Elliot was a city kid whose dream of becoming a travelling cowboy troubadour actually came true. After leaving home to join a rodeo at age 16, he became an important member of the '50s New York City folk scene, and often performed with Woody Guthrie. Respected for his early role in bringing traditional American music to the urban mainstream, Elliot is also an acknowledged expert on, and tireless interpreter and champion of, Western and cowboy songs.

Other tracks from this album

MP3 Downloads Album                 
DISC 1 for The Essential Ramblin' Jack Elliot Album By Ramblin' Jack Elliot iTunes
1   Roving Gambler Buy Buy
2   Will The Circle Be Unbroken Buy Buy
3   Diamond Joe Buy Buy
4   Guabi Guabi Buy Buy
5   Sowing On The Mountain Buy Buy
6   Roll On Buddy Buy Buy
7   1913 Massacre Buy Buy
8   House Of The Rising Sun Buy Buy
9   Shade Of The Old Apple Tree Buy Buy
10   Black Snake Moan Buy Buy
11   Portland Town Buy Buy
12   More Pretty Girls Buy Buy
13   San Francisco Bay Blues (Live) Buy Buy
14   Buffalo Skinners Buy Buy
15   Sadie Brown Buy Buy
16   Don't Think Twice, It's All Right (Live) Buy Buy
17   Blind Lemon Jefferson Buy Buy
18   Rambling Round Your City Buy Buy
19   Talking Columbia Buy Buy
20   Tennessee Stud Buy Buy
21   Night Herding Song Buy Buy
22   Lovesick Blues Buy Buy
23   I Belong To Glasgow Buy Buy

Product Description

Customer Reviews for "The Essential Ramblin' Jack Elliot" by Ramblin' Jack Elliot

There are no customer reviews yet. Be the first to write a review!

Submit your Review

Run a Quick Search on "The Essential Ramblin' Jack Elliot" Ramblin' Jack Elliot to Browse Related Products:

Browse more products related to "The Essential Ramblin' Jack Elliot"

Browse more products related to "Ramblin' Jack Elliot"

Product Notes

In terms of song selection, this is, indeed, the essential Ramblin' Jack. Originally released as a two-LP set, this 23-song collection is split into studio and live halves. The studio portion consists of a bracing assortment of traditional tunes that Elliott picked up from his many travels. He was, after all, Woody Guthrie's last road companion, and the highlight of the first dozen tunes is Guthrie's dramatic "1913 Massacre." The last section of the CD was recorded in concert at the Town Hall in New York City. The Ramblin' Jack of 1965 was a versatile, likable performer as adept at essaying old cowboy tunes ("Buffalo Skinners," "Night Herding Song") as then-contemporary folk tunes (protégé Bob Dylan's "Don't Think Twice, It's All Right"). One complaint, though: liner notes explaining this linchpin folkie's role as a bridge between generations of troubadours would make The Essential all the more indispensable. --Steven Stolder

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials Sales, Promotions & Special Features Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with