The Essential Johnny Cash (CD) ~ Johnny Cash (Artist) Cover Art

Folsom Prison Blues (Live)

By: Johnny Cash

Price from: $1.29
Provider: Amazon US
Availability: Download available
Also Available in: [CD]

Johnny Cash Artist Snapshot:

Johnny Cash was part rockabilly rebel, part campfire storyteller, part outlaw in black. Cash made country and rockabilly history on the Sun label in the 1950s. During the '60s, the ruggedly charismatic Cash rose to superstardom, ending the decade with both his marriage to June Carter and his own television show. In the '90s, Cash began his highly successful and acclaimed AMERICAN RECORDINGS series, reaching a new audience with an amazingly diverse set of songs, ranging from traditional tunes to alternative rock covers. With his lean, angular sound and hearty, passionate baritone, Cash forged one of the most unique styles in all of popular music, one that delved into gospel, folk, and rock, but also remained the essence of country music. Four months after his wife died, Johnny Cash passed away on September 12, 2003. And in 2005, the Oscar-nominated biopic WALK THE LINE brought Cash's music and legend to his largest audience yet.

Other tracks from this album

MP3 Downloads Album                  CD Universe Album
DISC 1 for The Essential Johnny Cash Album By Johnny Cash iTunes CD Universe
1   Hey Porter Buy Buy  
2   Cry Cry Cry Buy Buy  
3   I Walk The Line Buy    
4   Get Rhythm Buy Buy  
5   There You Go Buy Buy  
6   Ballad Of A Teenage Queen (mono) Buy    
7   Big River (mono) Buy    
8   Guess Things Happen That Way (mono) Buy    
9   All Over Again Buy Buy  
10   Don't Take Your Guns To Town Buy Buy  
11   Five Feet High And Rising Buy Buy  
12   The Rebel-Johnny Yuma Buy Buy  
13   Tennessee Flat-Top Box Buy Buy  
14   I Still Miss Someone Buy Buy  
15   Ring Of Fire Buy Buy  
16   The Ballad Of Ira Hayes Buy Buy  
17   Orange Blossom Special Buy Buy  
18   Were You There (When They Crucified My Lord) Buy Buy  
DISC 2 for The Essential Johnny Cash Album By Johnny Cash iTunes CD Universe
1   It Ain't Me, Babe Buy Buy  
2   The One On The Right Is On The Left Buy Buy  
3   Jackson Buy Buy  
4   Folsom Prison Blues (Live) Buy Buy  
5   Daddy Sang Bass Buy Buy  
6   Girl From The North Country Buy Buy  
7   A Boy Named Sue (Live) Buy Buy  
8   If I Were A Carpenter Buy Buy  
9   Sunday Morning Coming Down Buy Buy  
10   Flesh And Blood Buy Buy  
11   Man In Black Buy Buy  
12   Ragged Old Flag Buy Buy  
13   One Piece At A Time Buy Buy  
14   (Ghost) Riders In The Sky Buy Buy  
15   Song Of The Patriot Buy Buy  
16   Highwayman Buy Buy  
17   The Night Hank Williams Came To Town Buy Buy  
18   The Wanderer Buy    

Product Description

Customer Reviews for "The Essential Johnny Cash" by Johnny Cash

There are no customer reviews yet. Be the first to write a review!

Submit your Review

Run a Quick Search on "The Essential Johnny Cash" Johnny Cash to Browse Related Products:

Browse more products related to "The Essential Johnny Cash"

Browse more products related to "Johnny Cash"

Album Description

Japanese Blu-Spec CD pressing of this classic album. The Blue Spec format takes Blu-ray disc technology to create CD''s which are compatible with normal CD players but provides ultra high quality sound. Sony. 2009.

Product Notes

It's a great and perhaps impossible challenge to encapsulate the highlights of Johnny Cash's vast musical catalog in a two-CD, 36-song collection like this. Yet, though it barely scratches the surface, 2002's The Essential Johnny Cash--part of a series of compilations and reissues celebrating Cash's 70th birthday--does present three-dozen satisfying and balanced snapshots of some of the Man in Black's most memorable work for the Sun, Columbia, and Mercury labels. Above all else, these 36 selections are wonderful reminders of Cash's rustic eclecticism. Cuts range from '50s Sun rockabilly classics like "Hey Porter" and "I Walk the Line" to '60s country-folk gems like "The Ballad of Ira Hayes" and Cash's memorable duet with Bob Dylan on Dylan's "Girl from the North Country." Also included are more recent samplings of Cash's celebrated collaborations, including "Highwayman," which he recorded in 1984 with Willie Nelson, Waylon Jennings, and Kris Kristofferson as part of the on-again, off-again supergroup the Highwaymen, and "The Wanderer," a fervent gospel collaboration with U2 that appeared on the band's 1993 album, Zooropa. --Bob Allen

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials Sales, Promotions & Special Features Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with