The Essential Bruce Springsteen (CD) ~ Bruce Springsteen (Artist) Cover Art

The Essential Bruce Springsteen

By: Bruce Springsteen

Current Price: $21.94
Download MP3

Also available from:

Provider Name Price From Condition Buy
1   FYE $5.97 New Buy

Bruce Springsteen Artist Snapshot:

Bruce Springsteen came out of New Jersey in the early 1970s sounding like a cross between Bob Dylan and early Tom Waits, backed by the rambunctious E Street Band. After toughening up his sound, Springsteen created his 1975 masterpiece, BORN TO RUN, which garnered critical acclaim for its blend of Spectorian grandeur and street poetry. Nine years later, BORN IN THE U.S.A. made him a worldwide superstar with its beefed-up stadium-rock sound. Along the way, he's produced such low-key acoustic-based milestones as NEBRASKA and THE GHOST OF TOM JOAD, never losing the blue-collar ethos that is central to his vision. His 2002 album, THE RISING, is considered one of the finest artistic responses to the 9/11tragedy produced in the event's immediate aftermath.

Track Listing

MP3 Downloads Album                  CD Universe Album
DISC 1 for The Essential Bruce Springsteen Album By Bruce Springsteen iTunes CD Universe
1   Blinded By The Light Buy    
2   For You Buy    
3   Spirit In The Night Buy    
4   4th Of July, Asbury Park (Sandy) Buy    
5   Rosalita (Come Out Tonight) Buy    
6   Thunder Road Buy    
7   Born To Run Buy    
8   Jungleland Buy    
9   Badlands Buy    
10   Darkness On The Edge Of Town Buy    
11   The Promised Land Buy    
12   The River Buy    
13   Hungry Heart Buy    
14   Nebraska Buy    
15   Atlantic City Buy    
DISC 2 for The Essential Bruce Springsteen Album By Bruce Springsteen iTunes CD Universe
1   Born In The U.S.A. Buy    
2   Glory Days Buy    
3   Dancing In The Dark Buy    
4   Tunnel Of Love Buy    
5   Brilliant Disguise Buy    
6   Human Touch Buy    
7   Living Proof Buy    
8   Lucky Town Buy    
9   Streets Of Philadelphia Buy    
10   The Ghost Of Tom Joad Buy    
11   The Rising Buy    
12   Mary's Place Buy    
13   Lonesome Day Buy    
14   American Skin (41 Shots) (Live at Madison Square Garden) Buy Buy  
15   Land of Hope and Dreams (Live at Madison Square Garden) Buy Buy  
DISC 3 for The Essential Bruce Springsteen Album By Bruce Springsteen iTunes CD Universe
1   From Small Things (Big Things One Day Come) Buy Buy  
2   The Big Payback Buy Buy  
3   Held Up Without A Gun (Live) Buy Buy  
4   Trapped (Live) Buy Buy  
5   None But The Brave Buy Buy  
6   Missing Buy Buy  
7   Lift Me Up Buy Buy  
8   Viva Las Vegas Buy Buy  
9   County Fair Buy Buy  
10   Code Of Silence (Live) Buy Buy  
11   Dead Man Walkin' Buy Buy  
12   Countin' On A Miracle (Acoustic Version) Buy Buy  

Product Description

Customer Reviews for "The Essential Bruce Springsteen" by Bruce Springsteen

There are no customer reviews yet. Be the first to write a review!

Submit your Review

Run a Quick Search on "The Essential Bruce Springsteen" by Bruce Springsteen to Browse Related Products:

Browse more products related to "The Essential Bruce Springsteen"

Browse more products related to "Bruce Springsteen"

Product Notes

Vastly expanding 1995's single disc Greatest Hits, The Essential Bruce Springsteen easily surpasses the earlier best-of set by serving up all its true essentials and tossing in less appreciated treats and a full disc of rarities. Disc one spans the first decade of Springsteen's recording career, serving up at least two tracks each from the six albums that laid the groundwork for his '80s burst into superstardom. Disc two picks up with his mainstream breakthrough, 1984's Born in the U.S.A., and carries on through 2002's The Rising, tossing in live recordings of "American Skin" and "Land of Hope and Dreams" for good measure. The selections and sequencing surpass those made on Greatest Hits, though there's not too much in the way of surprises, other than that it appears that Born in the U.S.A. hasn't aged all that well for the Boss; here, he selects only three songs from the hit-laden smash, one fewer than is found on the skimpy Greatest Hits. Disc three is where the fun really starts for all but neophytes. The live "Held Up Without a Gun" is as gutsy a one minute and 20 seconds as Springsteen as one could ask for, and the likes of "Trapped," "Countin' on a Miracle," and a cover of "Viva Las Vegas" rank with his signature songs. --Steven Stolder

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials Sales, Promotions & Special Features Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with