Electric Version (CD) ~ The New Pornographers (Artist) Cover Art

Electric Version

By: New Pornographers

List Price: $9.99
Current Price: $9.99
You Save: $0.94 (8%)
Also Available in: [Vinyl LP]
Download MP3

Also available from:

Provider Name Price From Condition Buy
1   CD Universe $12.99 New Buy

The New Pornographers Artist Snapshot:

Indie rockers with a sound that pays homage to classic power pop and New Wave, the Canadian band the New Pornographers made a major impact with their 2000 debut album, MASS ROMANTIC. Something of an indie supergroup, the band includes members of Zumpano as well as alt-country songstress Neko Case. Despite leader A.C. Newman releasing a critically acclaimed solo album and Case maintaining only a guest-star status, the band remained intact and fulfilled the promise of its debut with subsequent records and tours.

Track Listing

MP3 Downloads
Amazon.com Album                 
DISC 1 for Electric Version Album By New Pornographers Amazon.com iTunes
1   The Electric Version Buy Buy
2   From Blown Speakers Buy Buy
3   The Laws Have Changed Buy Buy
4   The End Of Medicine Buy Buy
5   Loose Translation Buy Buy
6   Chump Change Buy Buy
7   All For Swinging You Around Buy Buy
8   The New Face Of Zero And One Buy Buy
9   Testament To Youth In Verse Buy Buy
10   It's Only Divine Right Buy Buy
11   Ballad Of A Comeback Kid Buy Buy
12   July Jones Buy Buy
13   Miss Teen Wordpower Buy Buy

Product Description

Customer Reviews for "Electric Version" by New Pornographers

There are no customer reviews yet. Be the first to write a review!

Submit your Review

Run a Quick Search on "Electric Version" by New Pornographers to Browse Related Products:

Browse more products related to "Electric Version"

Browse more products related to "New Pornographers"

Album Description

This is the second album from Vancouver's supergroup, featuring Carl Newman (Zumpano), Neko Case, Dan Bejar (Destroyer), & other local luminaries in a joyful cascade of slightly jaundiced power pop songs that'll knock your socks off. The hooks are huge & the wit & songwriting are off the map. 'Forty staggeringly catchy minutes of four-part harmonies & Wall of Sound production, exploding with energy & joy' - Rolling Stone. Matador. 2003.

Product Notes

The New Pornographers' debut album was the stuff of legend, a near-perfect collection of catchy songs filled with lush sonics, anthemic sing-alongs, and retro pop hooks. Seemingly out of nowhere, the band--featuring Zumpano's Carl Newman, Destroyer's Dan Bejar, and alt-country goddess Neko Case--forged a power pop masterpiece. Electric Version is, thankfully, not all that different. For its 45 minutes, the album never eases up on its great influences; you're treated to a baker's dozen of memorable tunes that harken to prog-rock, New Wave, and the British Invasion. The lyrics are goofy, the production fills your stereo (like the best, most upbeat tracks by Wilco or the Flaming Lips), and the alternating vocalists keep things fresh. The songs only get better as the album progresses; "Chump Change," "Ballad of a Comeback Kid,"and "July Jones" are three that standout. Somehow this indie supergroup is making classic rock ... today. --Jason Verlinde

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials

Tower.com Sales, Promotions & Special Features

Tower.com Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with Tower.com