Dusty in Memphis (CD) ~ Dusty Springfield (Artist) Cover Art

Dusty in Memphis

By: Dusty Springfield

Current Price: $11.98

Also available from:

Provider Name Price From Condition Buy
1   FYE $7.99 New Buy

Dusty Springfield Artist Snapshot:

A long-standing critical and fan favorite whose post-1960s work was sadly neglected during her lifetime, the whiskey-voiced Dusty Springfield is arguably the single most important British soul singer ever. And her stirring performances on the landmark 1969 album DUSTY IN MEMPHIS place her amongst the greatest pop singers of all time-- American or British, black or white. Her myriad classics include "You Don't Have To Say I Love You," "Son of a Preacher Man," and "Wishin' and Hopin'." After the aforementioned slate of critical favorites, she resurfaced on the pop chart backing Pet Shop Boys on "What Have I Done to Deserve This?" Springfield passed away in 1999.

Track Listing

DISC 1 for Dusty in Memphis Album By Dusty Springfield
1   Just a Little Lovin'
2   So Much Love
3   Son of a Preacher Man
4   I Don't Want to Hear It Anymore
5   Don't Forget About Me
6   Breakfast in Bed
7   Just One Smile
8   Windmills of Your Mind
9   In the Land of Make Believe
10   No Easy Way Down
11   I Can't Make It Alone
12   What Do You Do When Love Dies (bonus track)
13   Willie & Laura Mae Jones (bonus track)
14   That Old Sweet Roll (Hi-De-Ho) (bonus track)
15   Cherished [*]
16   Goodbye [*]
17   Make It with You [*]
18   Love Shine Down [*]
19   Live Here with You [*]
20   Natchez Trace [*]
21   All the King's Horses [*]
22   I'll Be Faithful [*]
23   Have a Good Life Baby [*]
24   You've Got a Friend [*]
25   I Found My Way [*]

Product Description

Customer Reviews for "Dusty in Memphis" by Dusty Springfield

There are no customer reviews yet. Be the first to write a review!

Submit your Review

Run a Quick Search on "Dusty in Memphis" by Dusty Springfield to Browse Related Products:

Browse more products related to "Dusty in Memphis"

Browse more products related to "Dusty Springfield"

Product Notes

Dusty Springfield never claimed to be a soul singer, but Dusty in Memphis effects a unique and deeply moving synthesis of her brand of stylish pop and the Southern R&B of the late '60s. Her soft tones and hushed, confessional readings make for definitive versions of everything from "Son of a Preacher Man" (a later version by Aretha Franklin is good but less thrillingly sensual than this one) to Randy Newman's ballads "I Don't Want to Hear It Anymore" and "Just One Smile" to a swirling take on "The Windmills of Your Mind." The soul obscurity "Breakfast in Bed" even gives a knowing spin to a line from an earlier Springfield classic: "You don't have to say you love me." This expanded edition features vastly improved sound and a number of bonus tracks not on the earlier CD. --Rickey Wright

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials

Tower.com Sales, Promotions & Special Features

Tower.com Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with Tower.com