Devil's Dance (CD) ~ Gil Shaham (Performer) and Jon... Cover Art

Concert Fantasy on Gounod's "Faust"

By: Gil Shaham [Violin], Jonathan Feldman [Piano]

Price from: $0.99
Provider: Amazon US
Availability: Download available
Also Available in: [CD]

Other tracks from this album

MP3 Downloads Album                  CD Universe Album
DISC 1 for Gil Shaham & Jonathan Feldman - The Devil's Dance Album By Gil Shaham [Violin] iTunes CD Universe
1   The Witches of Eastwick - Devil's Dance - for Gil Shaham Buy Buy  
2   Young Frankenstein - A Transsylvanian Lullaby Buy Buy  
3   Lyric Pieces Op.71 - Puck Buy Buy  
4   Danse macabre, Op.40 - transcribed f. vl./pn. by Cps Buy Buy  
5   Caprice fantastique Buy Buy  
6   Balladen und Romanzen, op.75 - violin and piano - Walpurgisnacht Buy Buy  
7   Lieder op.8 - violin / piano - Hexenlied Buy Buy  
8   La Ronde des Lutins - scherzo fantastique, Op.25 Buy Buy  
9   Graceful Ghost - Concert Variation for Violin and Piano Buy Buy  
10   Concert Fantasy on Gounod's "Faust" Buy    
11   24 Caprices for Violin, Op.1 - transcribed f.vln/pno by Robert Schumann - no.13 in B flat major Buy Buy  
12   Sonata for Violin and Continuo in G minor, B. g5 - "Il trillo del diavolo" Buy    
13   Sonata No.2 in A minor for solo violin, Op.27, No.2 - Obsession Buy Buy  

Product Description

Customer Reviews for "Gil Shaham & Jonathan Feldman - The Devil's Dance" by Gil Shaham [Violin]

There are no customer reviews yet. Be the first to write a review!

Submit your Review

Run a Quick Search on "Gil Shaham & Jonathan Feldman - The Devil's Dance" Gil Shaham [Violin] to Browse Related Products:

Browse more products related to "Gil Shaham & Jonathan Feldman - The Devil's Dance"

Browse more products related to "Gil Shaham [Violin], Jonathan Feldman [Piano]"

Product Notes

Though it's haunted by goblins, ghosts, and monsters, it is hard to find anything very satanic in much of this music, except its fiendishly difficult pyrotechnics. Its sole purpose is to display Gil Shaham's devilishly dazzling virtuosity, glorious tone, elegance, humor, and bewitching charm. The only substantial piece is Tartini's "Devil's Trill Sonata," in Kreisler's edition complete with his long, diabolically strenuous cadenza; Shaham plays it very beautifully, with genuine, moving expressiveness. Elsewhere, his tongue is never far from his cheek, whether he is tossing off Bazzini's "Rondo de Lutins" perfectly at top speed, or having fun with the fireworks of Korngold's "Caprice fantastique," Sarasate's "Faust Fantasie," Grieg's "Puck" arranged by Joseph Achron, Paganini's Caprice No. 13, with a piano part by Robert Schumann, and Saint-Saëns' "Dance macabre," in which the pianist doubles for a whole orchestra. There are also transcriptions of passionately romantic pieces by Brahms and Mendelssohn, and excursions into different styles: William Bolcom's "Graceful Ghost" rag; "Transylvanian Lullaby" from John Morris's soundtrack for "Young Frankenstein" transcribed by Shaham's pianist, Jonathan Feldman; and the title piece, "Devil's Dance" arranged by John Williams from his soundtrack for "The Witches of Eastwick." You can safely invite this devil of a violinist into your home--he is excellent company. --Edith Eisler

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials Sales, Promotions & Special Features Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with