The Complete Mercury Recordings (CD) ~ Lester Flatt & Earl S... Cover Art

The Complete Mercury Recordings (CD)

By: Flatt & Scruggs

List Price: $18.98
Current Price: $7.99
You Save: $10.99 (58%)
Download MP3

Also available from:

Provider Name Price From Condition Buy
1 $9.46 New Buy
2   FYE $9.99 New Buy
3   CD Universe $10.15 New Buy

Track Listing

MP3 Downloads Album                  CD Universe Album
DISC 1 for The Complete Mercury Recordings (CD) Album By Flatt & Scruggs iTunes CD Universe
1   We'll Meet Again Sweetheart Buy Buy  
2   God Loves His Children Buy Buy  
3   My Cabin In Caroline Buy Buy  
4   I'm Going To Make Heaven My Home Buy Buy  
5   Baby Blue Eyes Buy Buy  
6   Down The Road Buy Buy  
7   Bouquet In Heaven Buy Buy  
8   Why Don't You Tell Me So? Buy Buy  
9   I'll Never Shed Another Tear Buy Buy  
10   Foggy Mountain Breakdown Buy Buy  
11   No Mother Or Dad Buy Buy  
12   Is It Too Late Now? Buy Buy  
13   My Little Girl In Tennessee Buy Buy  
14   I'll Be Going To Heaven Sometime Buy Buy  
15   I'll Never Love Another Buy Buy  
16   So Happy I'll Be Buy Buy  
17   Doin' My Time Buy Buy  
18   Pike County Breakdown Buy Buy  
19   Preachin' Prayin' Singin' Buy Buy  
20   Cora Is Gone Buy Buy  
21   Pain In My Heart Buy Buy  
22   Roll In My Sweet Baby's Arms Buy Buy  
23   Back To The Cross Buy Buy  
24   Old Salty Dog Blues Buy Buy  
25   Will The Roses Bloom (Where She Lies Sleeping) Buy Buy  
26   Take Me In A Lifeboat Buy Buy  
27   Farewell Blues Buy Buy  

Product Description

Run a Quick Search on "The Complete Mercury Recordings" by Flatt & Scruggs to Browse Related Products:

Browse more products related to "The Complete Mercury Recordings"

Browse more products related to "Flatt & Scruggs"

Product Notes

Fresh off their pioneering stint with Bill Monroe, guitarist-vocalist Lester Flatt and banjo master Earl Scruggs waxed these 28 seminal cuts for the tiny Mercury label between 1948 and 1950. The duo and their Foggy Mountain Boys attack the music with an urgency that even Monroe''s Blue Grass Boys were hard-pressed to equal. Scruggs''s rolling three-fingered banjo technique is as important to bluegrass as any other innovation; without competition from Monroe''s mandolin, his banjo became the music''s primary driving force and the engine that propels most of these songs. "Foggy Mountain Breakdown" and "Farewell Blues" are banjo tour de forces that will never be matched. Original gospel numbers find Scruggs applying his fingerpicking technique to guitar, à la Merle Travis, and feature sharp group harmonies. Most of these original secular songs have become bluegrass standards, even though the pair refused to call their refined mountain music bluegrass. --Marc Greilsamer

Customer Reviews for "The Complete Mercury Recordings (CD)" by Flatt & Scruggs

There are no customer reviews yet. Be the first to write a review!

Submit your Review

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials Sales, Promotions & Special Features Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with