The Classic Early Recordings in Chronological Order (CD) ~ Djang... Cover Art

Classic Early Recordings in Chronogical Order (CD)

By: Django Reinhardt, Stephane Grappelli

List Price: $28.98
Current Price: $24.99
You Save: $3.99 (14%)

Also available from:

Provider Name Price From Condition Buy
1   FYE $24.98 New Buy
2   Walmart $24.99 New Buy
3 $25.09 New Buy
4   HBDirect $26.97 New Buy
5   CD Universe $29.19 New Buy

Track Listing

DISC 1 for Classic Early Recordings in Chronogical Order (CD) Album By Django Reinhardt
1   I Saw Stars - Bert Marshall, Django Reinhardt
2   I'm Confessin' (That I Love You)
3   Dinah
4   Tiger Rag
5   Oh, Lady Be Good
6   I Saw Stars
7   Lily Belle May June - Jerry Mengo, Django Reinhardt
8   Sweet Sue, Just You - Jerry Mengo, Django Reinhardt
9   I'm Confessin' (That I Love You)
10   Continental - Jerry Mengo, Django Reinhardt
11   Blue Drag
12   Swanee River
13   Sunshine of Your Smile
14   Ultrafox
15   Avalon
16   Smoke Rings
17   Clouds
18   Believe It, Beloved
19   I've Found a New Baby
20   St. Louis Blues
21   Crazy Rhythm
22   Sheik of Araby
23   Chasing Shadows
24   I've Had My Moments
25   Some of These Days
26   Djangology
DISC 2 for Classic Early Recordings in Chronogical Order (CD) Album By Django Reinhardt
1   Honeysuckle Rose
2   Sweet Georgia Brown
3   Night and Day
4   My Sweet
5   Souvenirs
6   Daphné
7   Black and White
8   Stompin' at Decca
9   Tornerai (J'Attendrai)
10   If I Had You
11   It Had to Be You
12   Nocturne
13   Flat Foot Floogie
14   Lambeth Walk
15   Why Shouldn't I?
16   I've Got My Love to Keep Me Warm
17   Please Be Kind
18   Louise
19   Improvisation No. 2
20   Undecided
21   H.C.Q. Strut
22   Don't Worry 'Bout Me
23   Man I Love
24   My Sweet
25   I've Got My Love to Keep Me Warm
26   Improvisation No. 2
DISC 3 for Classic Early Recordings in Chronogical Order (CD) Album By Django Reinhardt
1   Billets Doux
2   Swing de Paris
3   Them There Eyes
4   Three Little Words
5   Appel Direct
6   Hungaria
7   Hungaria
8   Jeepers Creepers
9   Jeepers Creepers
10   Swing '39
11   Japanese Sandman
12   I Wonder Where My Baby Is Tonight
13   I Wonder Where My Baby Is Tonight
14   Tea for Two
15   Tea for Two
16   My Melancholy Baby
17   Time on My Hands
18   Twelfth Year
19   Twelfth Year
20   My Melancholy Baby
21   Japanese Sandman
22   Tea for Two
23   I Wonder Where My Baby Is Tonight
24   Hungaria
DISC 4 for Classic Early Recordings in Chronogical Order (CD) Album By Django Reinhardt
1   Blue Moon
2   Avalon
3   What a Diff'rence a Day Made
4   Stardust
5   St. Louis Blues
6   Limehouse Blues
7   I Got Rhythm
8   I've Found a New Baby
9   It Was So Beautiful
10   China Boy
11   Moonglow
12   It Don't Mean a Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing)
13   I'se A-Muggin'
14   I Can't Give You Anything But Love
15   Oriental Shuffle
16   After You've Gone
17   Are You in the Mood?
18   Limehouse Blues
19   Nagasaki
20   Swing Guitars
21   Georgia on My Mind
22   Shine
23   In the Still of the Night
24   Sweet Chorus
DISC 5 for Classic Early Recordings in Chronogical Order (CD) Album By Django Reinhardt
1   Exactly Like You
2   Charleston
3   You're Driving Me Crazy
4   Tears
5   Solitude
6   Hot Lips
7   Ain't Misbehavin'
8   Rose Room
9   Body and Soul
10   When Day Is Done
11   Runnin' Wild
12   Chicago
13   Liebestraum No. 3
14   Miss Annabelle Lee
15   Little Love, a Little Kiss
16   Mystery Pacific
17   In a Sentimental Mood
18   Sheik of Araby
19   Improvisation
20   Parfum
21   Alabamy Bound
22   Rosetta
23   Stardust

Product Description

Run a Quick Search on "Classic Early Recordings in Chronogical Order" by Django Reinhardt to Browse Related Products:

Browse more products related to "Classic Early Recordings in Chronogical Order"

Browse more products related to "Django Reinhardt, Stephane Grappelli"

Album Description

VOLUME 1:1. I Saw Stars2. I'm Confessin'3. Dinah4. Tiger Rag5. Oh Lady Be Good6. I Saw Stars7. Lily Belle8. Sweet Sue Just You9. I'm Confessin'10. The Continental11. Blue Drag12. Swanee River13. The Sunshine Of Your Smile14. Ultrafox15. Avalon16. Smoke Rings17. Clouds18. Believe It Beloved19. I've Found A New Baby20. St Louis Blues21. Crazy Rhythm22. The Sheik Of Araby23. Chasing Shadows24. I've Had My Moments25. Some Of These Days26. DjangologyVOLUME 2:1. Honeysuckle Rose2. Sweet Georgia Brown3. Night And Day4. My Sweet5. Souvenirs6. Daphne7. Black And White8. Stompin' At Decca9. Tornerai10. If I Had You 11. It Had To Be You12. Nocturne13. The Flat Foot Floogie14. The Lambeth Walk15. Why Shouldn't I?16. I've Got My Love To Keep Me Warm17. Please Be Kind18. Louise19. Improvisation No 220. Undecided21. HCQ Strut 22. Don't Worry 'Bout Me23. The Man I Love24. My Sweet25. I've Got My Love To Keep Me Warm26. Improvisation No 2VOLUME 3:1. Billets Doux2. Swing From Paris3. Them There Eyes4. Three Little Words5. Appel Direct 6. Hungaria7. Hungaria8. Jeepers Creepers9. Jeepers Creepers10. Swing '3911. Japanese Sandman12. I Wonder Where My Baby Is Tonight13. I Wonder Where My Baby Is Tonight14. Tea For Two15. Tea For Two16. My Melancholy Baby17. Time On My Hands18. Twelfth Year19. Twelfth Year20. My Melancholy Baby21. Japanese Sandman22. Tea For Two23. I Wonder Where My Baby Is Tonight24. HungariaVOLUME 4:1. Format: CD

Product Notes

This wonderful five-disc box is an indispensable collection of prewar, prebop jazz that belongs in the company of your finest Louis Armstrong, Duke Ellington, Count Basie, and Benny Goodman sets. Technically, this isn't a true box set--it merely collects five single-disc compilations under one slipcase--but it is infinitely rewarding nonetheless. Disheartened by what he thought were sonically subpar Reinhardt collections, Ted Kendall undertook an ambitious mission to find the best original sources for this classic material and then meticulously remastered them. He wisely opted to leave in some of the surface noise to maintain the clarity and integrity of the music. And what glorious, jubilant music it is! Dating to the very first Quintet of the Hot Club of France sessions in September 1934 (before they'd even established that moniker), the collection includes all the landmark recordings Reinhardt made for Ultraphone, Decca (its English and French labels), and HMV up through the Quintet's 1939 breakup on the eve of World War II. Reinhardt's guitar work is spirited and adventurous throughout--lightning-quick runs, insistent rhythm work, and hybrid "riffs" that seem to split the difference. Nearly all the cuts feature the elegant but vivacious violin work of his most famous foil, Stephane Grappelli, who certainly deserves co-billing on the set. The way the two feed off each other's energy is magical. Despite their well-documented personality clashes, the twosome remains perhaps the most synergistic in jazz history, constantly engaging in their incredible cat-and-mouse games. Often overlooked are the songwriting talents of the two musicians, who contributed several standards to the jazz canon. Though mostly focused on the Quintet recordings, the set detours for such oddities as a pair of solo Reinhardt cuts from 1937 and collaborations with Coleman Hawkins. Simply delightful from beginning to end. --Marc Greilsamer

Customer Reviews for "Classic Early Recordings in Chronogical Order (CD)" by Django Reinhardt

There are no customer reviews yet. Be the first to write a review!

Submit your Review

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials Sales, Promotions & Special Features Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with