Clarence Ashley And Doc Watson: The Original Folkways Recordings... Cover Art

Rambling Hobo

By: Watson, Ashley

Price from: $0.99
Provider: Amazon US
Availability: Download available
Also Available in: [CD]

Doc Watson Artist Snapshot:

Blind North Carolina guitarist Arthel "Doc" Watson did more than anyone other than Earl Scruggs to popularize the guitar as a lead instrument in bluegrass. Watson's trademark two-fingered flatpicking style is one of the most influential in the genre, and has proven influential to all who followed in his wake. He became a professional musician in the 1950s, and was in the right place at the time for the folk boom of the '60s, which made him a star in roots music circles. For many years, Watson worked in a duo with his son Merle, but the latter was killed in a 1985 farm accident. Doc eventually soldiered on, becoming one of the most respected elder statesmen of bluegrass, earning Grammys and plaudits along the way.

Other tracks from this album

MP3 Downloads Album                 
DISC 1 for Clarence Ashley And Doc Watson: The Original Folkways Recordings, 1960-1962 [2-CD Set] Album By Watson iTunes
1   Crawdad Song Buy Buy
2   Sitting on Top of the World Buy Buy
3   Lee Highway Blues Buy Buy
4   Free Little Bird Buy Buy
5   The Coo-Coo Bird Buy Buy
6   Rising Sun Blues Buy Buy
7   Looking Towards Heaven Buy Buy
8   Rambling Hobo Buy Buy
9   Rambling Hobo Buy Buy
10   Shady Grove Buy Buy
11   Cumberland Gap Buy Buy
12   Tough Luck Buy Buy
13   Humpbacked Mule Buy Buy
14   My Home's Across the Blue Ridge Mountains Buy Buy
15   Way Down Town Buy Buy
16   Banks of the Ohio Buy Buy
17   Little Sadie Buy Buy
18   Carroll County Blues Buy Buy
19   Cluck Old Hen Buy Buy
20   Chilly Winds (Lonesome Road Blues) Buy Buy
21   Sweet Heaven When I Die Buy Buy
22   Fire on the Mountain Buy Buy
23   Will the Circle Be Unbroken Buy Buy
24   Daniel Prayed Buy Buy
25   Amazing Grace Buy Buy
DISC 2 for Clarence Ashley And Doc Watson: The Original Folkways Recordings, 1960-1962 [2-CD Set] Album By Watson iTunes
1   Sally Ann Buy Buy
2   Richmond Blues Buy Buy
3   Old Ruben Buy Buy
4   Willie Moore Buy Buy
5   Walking Boss Buy Buy
6   Shout Lulu Buy Buy
7   Keep My Skillet Good and Greasy Buy Buy
8   Pretty Little Pink Buy Buy
9   Run, Jimmie Run Buy Buy
10   Hick's Farewell Buy Buy
11   The Old Man at the Mill Buy Buy
12   A Short Life of Trouble Buy Buy
13   Brown's Dream Buy Buy
14   Footprints in the Snow Buy Buy
15   I'm Going Back to Jericho Buy Buy
16   Peg and Awl Buy Buy
17   Maggie Walker Buy Buy
18   God's Gonna Ease My Troublin' Mind Buy Buy
19   I Saw a Man at the Close of Day Buy Buy
20   Handsome Molly Buy Buy
21   John Henry Buy Buy
22   Honey Babe Blues Buy Buy

Product Description

Run a Quick Search on "Clarence Ashley And Doc Watson: The Original Folkways Recordings, 1960-1962 [2-CD Set]" Watson to Browse Related Products:

Browse more products related to "Clarence Ashley And Doc Watson: The Original Folkways Recordings, 1960-1962 [2-CD Set]"

Browse more products related to "Watson, Ashley"

Album Description

With 20 previously unreleased performances, many rare photos, and producer Ralph Rinzler's comprehensive notes, this is the definitive collection of two earlier volumes entitled Old Time Music at Clarence Ashley's. These LP's introduced the world to Doc Watson and played an important role in the folk revival of the '60s. Featured are Gaither Carlton, Clint Howard, Fred Price, Jack Burchett, and others. Compiled by Ralph Rinzler, Matt Walters and Jeff Place. Annotated by Ralph Rinzler. "Soul pours out of these unschooled folk musicians..." -- SF Chronicle

Product Notes

When blind singer/guitarist Arthel "Doc" Watson was "discovered" by folklorist Ralph Rinzler in 1960 he sounded as though he'd been picking for a hundred years, not to mention the fact that his huge repertoire of old songs seemed like it could go on for days. Watson had actually been playing in a honky-tonk band when Rinzler came across him in Deep Gap, North Carolina. When he asked Doc to set down his electric guitar he created one of the first--and most lasting--stars of the folk revival. Ashley was already a mountain music legend himself when he cut these front-porch sessions; picking a fine banjo and singing along on one standard--like "Shady Grove" and "Peg and Awl"--after another. --Michael Ruby

Customer Reviews for "Clarence Ashley And Doc Watson: The Original Folkways Recordings, 1960-1962 [2-CD Set]" by Watson

There are no customer reviews yet. Be the first to write a review!

Submit your Review

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials Sales, Promotions & Special Features Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with