Bring It on Home... The Soul Classics (CD) ~ Aaron Neville (Artist) Cover Art

Bring It on Home: The Soul Classics (CD)

By: Aaron Neville

Current Price: $18.93
Download MP3

Also available from:

Provider Name Price From Condition Buy
1   FYE $3.00 New Buy

Track Listing

MP3 Downloads Album                  CD Universe Album
DISC 1 for Bring It on Home: The Soul Classics (CD) Album By Aaron Neville iTunes CD Universe
1   Rainy Night In Georgia (featuring Chris Botti) Buy Buy  
2   Ain't No Sunshine Buy Buy  
3   (Sittin' On) The Dock Of The Bay Buy Buy  
4   Stand By Me Buy Buy  
5   You Send Me Buy Buy  
6   Respect Yourself (featuring Mavis Staples) Buy Buy  
7   When A Man Loves A Woman Buy Buy  
8   Let's Stay Together (featuring Chaka Khan) Buy Buy  
9   It's All Right Buy Buy  
10   People Get Ready (featuring David Sanborn and Art Neville) Buy Buy  
11   My Girl Buy Buy  
12   Ain't That Peculiar Buy Buy  

Product Description

Run a Quick Search on "Bring It on Home: The Soul Classics" by Aaron Neville to Browse Related Products:

Browse more products related to "Bring It on Home: The Soul Classics"

Browse more products related to "Aaron Neville"

Album Description

Rooted in the fertile soil of rhythm-and-blues’ rich past, Bring It On Home…The Soul Classics, is a landmark work by Aaron Neville. This platinum recording artist and renowned vocalist has created an album of his interpretations of 13 universally loved soul classics, including Otis Redding's "(Sittin’ On) The Dock Of The Bay," Sam Cooke’s "You Send Me" and Ben E. King’s "Stand By Me." The album also features special guests Chaka Khan, Chris Botti, Mavis Staples, David Sanborn and Art Neville.

Product Notes

Approach Aaron Neville's Bring it on Home ... the Soul Classics with anything but an open heart and you've missed the point. This is a serious CD, at once mournful, humble, and joyous, with no shortage of moments that recall the terribleness of Hurricane Katrina. One way of processing it is as a cataloging of classic songs that helped Neville's fellow New Orleanians soldier through: opener "Rainy Night in Georgia" with jazzman Chris Botti wrings beauty from soaking-wet despair, "Stand By Me" turns its heel on pleading in favor of promise-making, and "People Get Ready," with David Sanborn and brother Art, is a chill-sending reminder of how unity and perseverance can trump tragedy. Viewed from another lens, Soul Classics is Neville's attempt at climbing aboard the late-career, classic-covers bandwagon while weaving his bayou-soul heritage into the picture. The trouble with that theory, though, is that it feels like so much more. His voice flutters alongside Mavis Staple's on "Respect Yourself" with completely uncontrived tenderness, and Otis Redding's "(Sittin' On) The Dock of the Bay" becomes a meditation on stillness and ease that befits a boulder-sized lump in the throat. A tossed-together concept album this is not; a reflection of a soul man gifted with the ability to spin epic, unyielding sorrow into grace is more like it. --Tammy La Gorce

Customer Reviews for "Bring It on Home: The Soul Classics (CD)" by Aaron Neville

There are no customer reviews yet. Be the first to write a review!

Submit your Review

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials Sales, Promotions & Special Features Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with