Blues in Orbit (CD) ~ Duke Ellington (Artist) Cover Art

Blues in Orbit (CD)

By: Duke Ellington

List Price: $7.98
Current Price: $5.99
You Save: $1.99 (25%)
Download MP3

Also available from:

Provider Name Price From Condition Buy
1 $7.65 New Buy
2   CD Universe $9.09 New Buy
3   HBDirect $9.49 New Buy

Track Listing

MP3 Downloads
DISC 1 for Blues in Orbit (CD) Album By Duke Ellington iTunes
1   Three J's Blues Buy Buy
2   Smada Buy Buy
3   Pie Eye's Blues Buy Buy
4   Sweet & Pungent Buy Buy
5   C Jam Blues Buy Buy
6   In A Mellow Tone Buy Buy
7   Blues In Blueprint Buy Buy
8   The Swingers Get The Blues, Too Buy Buy
9   The Swinger's Jump Buy Buy
10   Blues In Orbit Buy Buy
11   Villes Ville Is The Place, Man Buy Buy
12   Track 360 Buy Buy
13   Sentimental Lady Buy Buy
14   Brown Penny Buy Buy
15   Pie Eye's Blues (Alternate Take) Buy Buy
16   Sweet & Pungent (Alternate Take) Buy Buy
17   The Swinger's Jump (Alternate Take) Buy Buy
18   Blues In Orbit (Alternate Take) Buy Buy

Product Description

Run a Quick Search on "Blues in Orbit" by Duke Ellington to Browse Related Products:

Browse more products related to "Blues in Orbit"

Browse more products related to "Duke Ellington"

Product Notes

The atmospheric, floating quality (see title) of the production and the mysterious, airy, and sparse arrangements make this album an overlooked gem in the Ellington catalog. Two of the tracks were cut in 1958 utilizing the full 15-piece orchestra: the slow-moving blues of the title track, where the leader''s eerie piano fills answer the statements of the full band, and "Track 360," a dramatic aural representation of a train wreck. The remainder of the CD (minus one other track) was recorded with slightly smaller configurations at two midnight sessions in December of the following year. Ray Nance (the only trumpet because of band restructuring) and especially Johnny Hodges offer the most rewarding solo contributions of the date, many of which stand alongside their best ever. Hodges''s magnificently fragile and seductive alto graces "Brown Penny" and handles both delicate and driving passages with aplomb on Billy Strayhorn''s "Smada" (with the composer in the piano chair) while Nance belts out the bridge. The band also revisits earlier classics from the Ellington songbook: Nance shows his violin prowess on "C Jam Blues" before growling through "In a Mellotone"; "Sentimental Lady" is in Hodges''s capable caress. --Marc Greilsamer

Customer Reviews for "Blues in Orbit (CD)" by Duke Ellington

There are no customer reviews yet. Be the first to write a review!

Submit your Review

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials Sales, Promotions & Special Features Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with