Bishop Hilarion Alfeyev: St Matthew Passion (CD) ~ ALFEYEV Cover Art

Bishop Hilarion Alfeyev: St Matthew Passion

By: Vladimir Fedosseyev (conductor), Choir of the State Tretyakov Gallery, Tchaikovsky Symphony Orchestra

List Price: $24.99
Current Price: $21.33
You Save~: $3.66 (15%)
Current Price: $55.99

Also available from:

Provider Name Price From Condition Buy
1   CD Universe $23.39 New Buy
2   HBDirect $23.74 New Buy

Track Listing

DISC 1 for Bishop Hilarion Alfeyev: St Matthew Passion Album By Vladimir Fedosseyev (conductor...
1   Chorus: Come, let us sing a holy lament to Christ
2   Evangelist: Mt. 26:1 5, 14 16
3   Chorus and recitative: Judas ran to the lawless scribes
4   Evangelist: Mt. 26:17 22, 25
5   Chorus: One of you shall betray Me
6   Evangelist: Mt. 26:26 30
7   Chorus and recitative: The Master s hospitality
8   Fugue
9   Evangelist: Mt. 26:31 35
10   Chorus and recitative: Though all men shall deny Thee
11   Air
12   Evangelist: Mt. 26:36 44
13   Chorus and recitative: Today the Creator of heaven and earth.
14   Chorus: The Beatitudes
15   Evangelist: Mt. 26:47 50, 55 56
16   Chorus and recitative: The disciple agreed upon the price of the Master
17   Chorale
18   Evangelist: Mt. 26:57 68
19   Chorus: He who clothes Himself in light as in a garment
20   Evangelist: Mt. 26:69 75
21   Chorus and recitative: Peter denied Thee three times
22   Air
23   Evangelist: Mt. 27:1 5
24   Chorus: What reason led thee, Judas, to betray the Saviour?
25   Evangelist: Mt. 27:11 17, 22 26
26   Chorus and recitative: When Thou, O God, wast standing before Caiaphas
27   Fugue
DISC 2 for Bishop Hilarion Alfeyev: St Matthew Passion Album By Vladimir Fedosseyev (conductor...
1   Chorus: Let all mortal flesh keep silence
2   Evangelist: Mt. 27:27 37
3   Chorus:We venerate Thy Cross, O Master
4   Chorus: Today He who hung the earth upon the waters is hung upon the Cross
5   Evangelist: Mt. 27:38 44
6   Chorus: Thou hast redeemed us
7   Evangelist: Mt. 27:45 50
8   Chorus:We hymn Thee
9   Evangelist: Mt. 27:51 56
10   Chorale and recitative: The whole creation was changed by fear
11   Air: The Holy Virgin s lament
12   Chorus:Weep not for Me, O Mother
13   recitative and Chorus: Arise, O God
14   Fugue
15   Evangelist: Mt. 27:57 61
16   Chorus: Noble Joseph
17   Evangelist: Mt. 27:62 66
18   Air
19   Chorus: Thou didst descend into hell
20   Fugue

Product Description

Customer Reviews for "Bishop Hilarion Alfeyev: St Matthew Passion" by Vladimir Fedosseyev (conductor...

Average Customer Review
5 out of 5 stars ( [1 customer review

Share your thoughts with other customers:
 [Submit your ReviewSubmit your Review

Most Recent Customer Reviews
5 out of 5 stars Heavenly, September 12, 2012
By Susan
I was in the kitchen working when my husband selected this on youtube. When I heard from the other room tears came to my eyes and I said, "What is that?" It took me a while to find it. When it arrived and I was able to listen to it on good speakers, I thought I had died and gone to Heaven. I am ordering more copies as gifts. This is inspired music.

Run a Quick Search on "Bishop Hilarion Alfeyev: St Matthew Passion" by Vladimir Fedosseyev to Browse Related Products:

Album Description

St Matthew Passion is a monumental work, composed for soloists, choir and orchestra.

This composition combines a traditional approach with a clarity and originality of presentation. It is the work of a professional composer, seeking inspiration in the traditions of church music of Eastern and Western Christianity, a composer who has also, in many years service as a priest, brought the word of God to His people. This composition is unique in the history of contemporary music, in its musicality, its variety and coherence, and its emotional and spiritual depth.

The work is based on the description of the passion and death of Christ as told in the Gospel according to St Matthew. This story is divided into sixteen parts and performed in Russian in the style usually adopted for the reading of the Gospel in Orthodox churches. Excerpts from the Gospel are interspersed with music recitative, choruses, fugues and arias the text of which is mostly taken from the services held by Orthodox Christians during Holy Week. Occasionally the text has been simplified or otherwise adapted by the composer. Some pieces are for orchestra alone, others for choir alone, while in many both appear, complementing each other.
The work is divided into four thematic parts, each of which has its own composition, including various pieces for choral, orchestral and solo performance. Within each part, the pieces are performed without interruption.
Each part contains a fugue, which constitutes one of the most important structural elements of the work.

Beautiful and powerful music, full of energy and dynamism. Performances in Moscow (27 March 2007), Rome (29 March 2008), Melbourne (29 September 2007) and Toronto (25 October 2008) received standing ovation.

Bishop Hilarion Alfeyev
studied composition at Moscow Gnessins School of Music and subsequently at the Moscow State Conservatory. In 1987 he was ordained priest, and since 2002 he is as a bishop of the Russian Orthodox Church. He is the author of more than 600 publications, including 20 books which have been translated into major European languages. His musical compositions include the Divine Liturgy (2006) and All-Night Vigil (2006) for the choir a capella, the Christmas Oratorio for soloists, boys choir, mixed choir and symphony orchestra (2007), A Song of the Ascent , a choral symphony on the Psalms (2008). Bishop Hilarion has been living and working in Austria since 2003.

Vladimir Fedosseyev
is the foremost conductor of symphony orchestras in Russia and one of the best in the world. Since 1974 he has been the director and chief conductor of the Tchaikovsky Great Symphony Orchestra. From 1997 to 2005 he led the Vienna Symphony Orchestra and he continues to respond to requests to conduct many other symphony orchestras on an occasional basis. His repertoire includes all major works for symphony orchestra, oratorio, opera and ballet.

The Tchaikovsky Great Symphony Orchestra
was created in 1930 as the leading symphony orchestra of the Soviet Union. Its conductors have included some of the world s finest, including Aleksandr Orlov, Nikolai Golovanov, Alexander Gauk, and Gennadiy Rozhdyestvenskiy. The orchestra s finest hour came with the appointment of Vladimir Fedoseyev, who established the distinctive emotional signature of the orchestra and establishing it as a household name the world over. The orchestra was the first to perform works by such famous Russian composers as Prokofiev, Myaskovsky, Khachaturian and Sviridov and brought to life many wonderful pieces by contemporary composers.

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials Sales, Promotions & Special Features Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with