The Best of Both Worlds (CD) ~ Van Halen (Artist) Cover Art

Best of Both Worlds (CD)

By: Van Halen

Provider: Amazon US
Availability: Download available
Also Available in: [CD]

Track Listing

MP3 Downloads
DISC 1 for Best of Both Worlds (CD) Album By Van Halen
1   Eruption (Remastered Album Version) Buy
2   It's About Time (New Recording) Buy
3   Up For Breakfast (New Recording) Buy
4   Learning To See (New Recording) Buy
5   Ain't Talkin' 'Bout Love (Remastered Version) Buy
6   Finish What Ya Started (Remastered Album Version) Buy
7   You Really Got Me (Remastered Album Version) Buy
8   Dreams (Remastered Version) Buy
9   Hot For Teacher (Remastered Album Version) Buy
10   Poundcake (Remastered Album Version) Buy
11   And The Cradle Will Rock... (Remastered Album Version) Buy
12   Black And Blue (Remastered Album Version) Buy
13   Jump (Remastered Version) Buy
14   Top Of The World (Remastered Album Version) Buy
15   (Oh) Pretty Woman (Remastered Album Version) Buy
16   Love Walks In (Remastered Album Version) Buy
17   Beautiful Girls (Remastered Album Version) Buy
18   Can't Stop Lovin' You (Remastered Album Version) Buy
19   Unchained (Remastered Album Version) Buy
20   Panama (Remastered Album Version) Buy
21   Best Of Both Worlds (Remastered Album Version) Buy
22   Jamie's Cryin' (Remastered Album Version) Buy
23   Runaround (Remastered Album Version) Buy
24   I'll Wait (Remastered Single Edit) Buy
25   Why Can't This Be Love (Remastered Version) Buy
26   Runnin' With The Devil (Remastered Album Version) Buy
27   When It's Love (Remastered Album Version) Buy
28   Dancing In The Street (Remastered Album Version) Buy
29   Not Enough (Remastered Album Version) Buy
30   Feels So Good (Remastered Single Version) Buy
31   Right Now (Remastered Album Version) Buy
32   Everybody Wants Some!! (Remastered Album Version) Buy
33   Dance The Night Away (Remastered Album Version) Buy
34   Ain't Talkin' 'Bout Love (Remastered Live Version) Buy
35   Panama (Remastered Live Version) Buy
36   Jump (Remastered Live Version) Buy
DISC 2 for Best of Both Worlds (CD) Album By Van Halen
1   Panama  
2   Best Of Both Worlds  
3   Jamie's Cryin'  
4   Runaround  
5   I'll Wait  
6   Why Can't This Be Love  
7   Runnin' With The Devil  
8   When It's Love  
9   Dancing In The Street  
10   Not Enough  
11   Feels So Good  
12   Right Now  
13   Everybody Wants Some  
14   Dance The Night Away  
15   Ain't Talkin' 'Bout Love (Live)  
16   Panama (Live)  

Product Description

Run a Quick Search on "Best of Both Worlds" Van Halen to Browse Related Products:

Browse more products related to "Best of Both Worlds"

Browse more products related to "Van Halen"

Album Description

Van Halen rocketed to stardom with their raucous, 10X-platinum-plus 1978 self-titled album, one of the greatest debuts ever. Anchored by Eddie Van Halen’s guitar wizardry and David Lee Roth's vocal showmanship, the band's dynamic sound reinvented hard rock. A run of multiplatinum Top 10 discs followed, peaking with 1984, another 10X-platinum blockbuster and Roth's swan song. Sammy Hagar replaced the vocalist, a transition that cost the band no momentum. The Red Rocker's VH debut, 1986's 5150 , hit #1 on The Billboard 200, as did 1988's OU812. The Grammy-winning 1991 release, For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge, reached #5. This new compilation spotlights Van Halen's always-stellar musicianship over the course of 25 years and two world-class frontmen, and continues the story with three brand new Hagar-fronted tracks!

Product Notes

One shouldn't have too much difficulty imagining a two-disc Van Halen compilation entitled The Best of Both Worlds. The first disc will showcase the David Lee Roth-fronted version of the band that reenergized hard rock with its titanic 1978 debut and peaked commercially with 1984's, uh, 1984. Disc two will take up where David Lee was left off--from 1986 on, when Sammy Hagar (and, briefly, Hagar-sound-alike Gary Cherone) took over the mike. Well, unfortunately, that's not the anthology assembled this time out. Rather than sequence the selections chronologically and, in the process, display the band's evolution (or devolution, depending on where one stands in the great Roth/Hagar debate), the band has opted for a more eccentric sequencing strategy. After the opener "Eruption" confirms the sass and chops of the young VH, three fairly uninspired new tracks featuring a back-in-the-fold (for now?) Hagar interrupt the flow. Unfortunately, the flow never really recovers, as Roth and Hagar tracks leapfrog one another through the next 29 selections. Three live Hagar takes on songs from the Roth era finish things off in confusing fashion. Obviously, there's plenty of powerful music here, but do fans really need a lesson in what happens when worlds collide? And didn't David Lee earn at least one photo in the package? --Steven Stolder

Customer Reviews for "Best of Both Worlds (CD)" by Van Halen

There are no customer reviews yet. Be the first to write a review!

Submit your Review

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials Sales, Promotions & Special Features Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with