Beautiful People: The Greatest Hits Of Melanie (CD) ~ Melanie (S... Cover Art

Beautiful People: The Greatest Hits Of Melanie

By: Melanie

List Price: $6.99
Current Price: $6.99
You Save: $0.65 (8%)
Download MP3

Also available from:

Provider Name Price From Condition Buy
1   CD Universe $7.35 New Buy

Track Listing

MP3 Downloads Album                  CD Universe Album
DISC 1 for Beautiful People: The Greatest Hits Of Melanie Album By Melanie iTunes CD Universe
1   Summer Of Love II Buy    
2   Lay Down (Candles In The Rain) Buy Buy  
3   Ring The Living Bell Buy    
4   Look What They've Done To My Song, Ma Buy Buy  
5   Brand New Key Buy Buy  
6   Love To Lose Again Buy    
7   Lover's Cross Buy    
8   Ruby Tuesday Buy Buy  
9   Nickel Song Buy Buy  
10   Bobo's Party Buy Buy  
11   Good Book Buy Buy  
12   Christopher Robin Buy Buy  
13   Animal Crackers Buy Buy  
14   Psychotherapy (Live) Buy Buy  
15   Beautiful People Buy Buy  
16   Together Alone Buy    
17   Leftover Wine Buy Buy  
18   Peace Will Come (According To Plan) Buy Buy  
19   I Will Get Over Buy    

Product Description

Customer Reviews for "Beautiful People: The Greatest Hits Of Melanie" by Melanie

Average Customer Review
5 out of 5 stars ( [1 customer review

Share your thoughts with other customers:
 [Submit your ReviewSubmit your Review

Most Recent Customer Reviews
5 out of 5 stars Old Times Favourites, May 19, 2010
By Naro
I have been a Melanie fan since the 70s.She has a voice that is unique and a certain kind of mellowness that you hardly hear these days.This album is suitable for easy listening and to enjoy the sound of the 70s for old time sake.

Related Products
My favourite is Lay Down (Candle In the Rain) and Left Over Wine.

Run a Quick Search on "Beautiful People: The Greatest Hits Of Melanie" by Melanie to Browse Related Products:

Browse more products related to "Beautiful People: The Greatest Hits Of Melanie"

Browse more products related to "Melanie"

Product Notes

Melanie was the Jewel of the Woodstock Generation. Like her three-decades-down-the-road heir, the woman born Melanie Safka made a quick splash as a radio-friendly singer-songwriter. Something of a male Donovan (what is this, no-surname syndrome?), Melanie took hits (like Jewel, too) for delivering what critics considered hippie-dippy platitudes. (She came to resent her "bliss ninny" image and rebelled against it following her late-''60s, early-''70s heyday.) But, also like Donovan, Melanie''s best songs have aged nicely, thanks in large part to her knack for integrating her distinctive rasp into ingratiating hooks and solid folk-rock arrangements. Alternating between melismatic sing-alongs ("Lay Down," here in unedited seven-minute-plus form, her splendid cover of "Ruby Tuesday," "What Have They Done to My Song, Ma?") and precious novelty numbers ("The Nickel Song," "Brand New Key," "Animal Crackers"), Melanie wrote her own little bit of pop history, which is celebrated in this worthy 19-song retrospective. All the hits are here, remastered by art-rock avatar Robert Fripp. --Steven Stolder

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials Sales, Promotions & Special Features Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with