The Band - Greatest Hits (CD) ~ The Band (Artist) Cover Art

The Band Greatest Hits

By: The Band

Provider: Amazon US
Availability: Download available
Also Available in: [CD]

The Band Artist Snapshot:

The Band began as the Hawks, backing up rockabilly cat Ronnie Hawkins. In the mid-1960s, they became Bob Dylan's ensemble of choice, aiding him in his epochal switch to an electric rock-based format. When they emerged as an independent recording entity at the end of the '60s, they helped usher in a move towards earthy roots-rock as a generation shied away from the clamor and excess of the psychedelic era. The mostly Canadian group synthesized a wide variety of traditional American styles in a unique hodgepodge that took full advantage of each member's unique multi-instrumental abilities. THE LAST WALTZ film and album provided their 1978 swan song, but the Band began anew in the '80s without songwriter/guitarist Robbie Robertson.

Track Listing

MP3 Downloads Album                 
DISC 1 for The Band Greatest Hits Album By The Band iTunes
1   The Weight (2000 Digital Remaster) Buy Buy
2   Tears Of Rage (2000 Digital Remaster) Buy Buy
3   Chest Fever (2000 Digital Remaster) Buy Buy
4   I Shall Be Released (2000 Digital Remaster) Buy Buy
5   Up On Cripple Creek (2000 Digital Remaster) Buy Buy
6   The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down (2000 Digital Remaster) Buy Buy
7   Rag Mama Rag (24-Bit Remastered 00) (2000 Digital Remaster) Buy Buy
8   King Harvest (Has Surely Come) (2000 Digital Remaster) Buy Buy
9   The Shape I'm In (2000 Digital Remaster) Buy Buy
10   Stage Fright (2000 Digital Remaster) Buy Buy
11   Time To Kill (2000 Digital Remaster) Buy Buy
12   Life Is A Carnival (2000 Digital Remaster) Buy Buy
13   When I Paint My Masterpiece (2000 Digital Remaster) Buy Buy
14   Ain't Got No Home (2000 Digital Remaster) Buy Buy
15   It Makes No Difference (2001 Digital Remaster) Buy Buy
16   Ophelia (2001 Digital Remaster) Buy Buy
17   Acadian Driftwood (2001 Digital Remaster) Buy Buy
18   The Saga Of Pepote Rouge (2000 Digital Remaster) Buy Buy

Product Description

Customer Reviews for "The Band Greatest Hits" by The Band

There are no customer reviews yet. Be the first to write a review!

Submit your Review

Run a Quick Search on "The Band Greatest Hits" The Band to Browse Related Products:

Browse more products related to "The Band Greatest Hits"

Browse more products related to "The Band"

Product Notes

It seems odd that the Band emerged in 1968, defying the counterculture''s extravagant rejections of U.S. culture with literary, often Southern-tinged musical and lyrical vehicles. Hearing this 18-song anthology, with its heavy weighting toward the Canadian quintet''s first three albums--Music from Big Pink (four tunes), The Band (five tunes), and Stage Fright (three tunes)--what still stands out is the Band''s command of yearning vocal harmonies, their sense of plainly laid melodies that reveal acoustic depth, and a nostalgia for an imagined American culture. With all their quirkiness and the advance of Robbie Robertson as their centerpiece, the Band lost their celebrated place in the rock pantheon within a decade. This set, which opens so magnificently with "The Weight," "Tears of Rage" (cowritten with Dylan), and the big organ-vamping "Chest Fever," declines rather steeply on the final tracks, "Acadian Driftwood" and "The Saga of Pepote Rouge." Up till then, however, this set is fantastic. --Andrew Bartlett

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials Sales, Promotions & Special Features Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with