Appassionato (CD) ~ Claudio Abbado (Conductor) Cover Art


By: Yo-Yo Ma

List Price: $7.99
Current Price: $7.99
You Save: $1.08 (8%)
Download MP3

Also available from:

Provider Name Price From Condition Buy
1   FYE $9.99 New Buy
2   CD Universe $11.25 New Buy

Track Listing

MP3 Downloads Album                  CD Universe Album
DISC 1 for Appassionato Album By Yo-Yo Ma iTunes CD Universe
1   Going To School (iTunes Session) Buy Buy  
2   IV. Allegretto poco mosso from Sonata in A Major for Violin and Piano Buy Buy  
3   II. Andante con moto e poco rubato from Three Preludes Buy Buy  
4   II. Largo from "Winter", Op. 8, No. 4, RV 297 from the Four Seasons Buy Buy  
5   Doce de coco Buy Buy  
6   II. Largo from Concerto No. 1 in G minor for Cello and Orchestra, Op. 49 Buy Buy  
7   Cinema Paradiso: Looking for You from Giuseppe Tornatore Suite Buy Buy  
8   The Swan from Carnival of the Animals (Chamber Version) Buy Buy  
9   Yanzi (Swallow Song) Buy Buy  
10   II. Andante from Concerto for Violin, Cello and Orchestra in A minor, Op. 102 Buy Buy  
11   Soledad Buy Buy  
12   No. 4 Mikin Pekko from Five Finnish Folk Songs Buy Buy  
13   First Impressions (Instrumental) Buy Buy  
14   Song Without Words, Op. 109 Buy Buy  
15   Gabriel's Oboe from The Mission (Excerpt) Buy Buy  

Product Description

Customer Reviews for "Appassionato" by Yo-Yo Ma

There are no customer reviews yet. Be the first to write a review!

Submit your Review

Run a Quick Search on "Appassionato" by Yo-Yo Ma to Browse Related Products:

Browse more products related to "Appassionato"

Browse more products related to "Yo-Yo Ma"

Product Notes

Any new compilation CD starring Yo-Yo Ma is certain to please. This master of the cello takes the listener through so many types of music that the ear and mind never tire. The present selection is billed as a sort of "musical autobiography," and, indeed, it gives us a tour of Ma's musical life. The Silk Road Project is represented by Zhao's "Swallow Song," with its eerie, fascinating soundscape (specially re-recorded for this CD). We also accompany Ma on his excursions into the world of the baroque cello with Vivaldi or of the Finnish folk song (by Mamiya, a first recording). There are Gershwin's languid Second Prelude, with its intimations of the song "Summertime," and an all-new recording of a nine-minute heart-breaker by Astor Piazzolla ("Soledad"). Ma also gives us more familiar Brahms, Franck, and Saint-Saens. The compilation's mellow 65 minutes offer relaxing, beautiful music, all exquisitely played. Ma is joined by the best: Emanuel Ax, Kathryn Stott, John Williams (who plays piano on his own "Going to School" from Memoirs of a Geisha), Isaac Stern, and Claudio Abbado. This is a veritable Who's Who of superb musicians. --Robert Levine

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials Sales, Promotions & Special Features Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with