69 Love Songs, Pt. 1 (CD) ~ The Magnetic Fields (Artist) Cover Art

69 Love Songs 1 (CD)

By: Magnetic Fields

List Price: $14.98
Current Price: $11.99
You Save: $2.99 (20%)
Download MP3

Also available from:

Provider Name Price From Condition Buy
1   Supermart.com $12.36 New Buy
2   HBDirect $13.77 New Buy
3   FYE $14.99 New Buy
4   CD Universe $16.09 New Buy

Track Listing

MP3 Downloads
DISC 1 for 69 Love Songs 1 (CD) Album By Magnetic Fields Amazon.com
1   Absolutely Cuckoo Buy
2   I Don't Believe In The Sun Buy
3   All My Little Words Buy
4   A Chicken With Its Head Cut Off Buy
5   Reno Dakota Buy
6   I Don't Want To Get Over You Buy
7   Come Back From San Francisco Buy
8   The Luckiest Guy On The Lower East Side Buy
9   Let's Pretend We're Bunny Rabbits Buy
10   The Cactus Where Your Heart Should Be Buy
11   I Think I Need A New Heart Buy
12   The Book Of Love Buy
13   Fido, Your Leash Is Too Long Buy
14   How Fucking Romantic Buy
15   The One You Really Love Buy
16   Punk Love Buy
17   Parades Go By Buy
18   Boa Constrictor Buy
19   A Pretty Girl Is Like Buy
20   My Sentimental Melody Buy
21   Nothing Matters When We're Dancing Buy
22   Sweet-Lovin' Man Buy

Product Description

Run a Quick Search on "69 Love Songs 1" by Magnetic Fields to Browse Related Products:

Browse more products related to "69 Love Songs 1"

Browse more products related to "Magnetic Fields"

Album Description

1999 and first new material in four years by Stephin Merrit 's main band (his side projects include Future Bible Heroes, Gothic Archies and The 6ths). Disc one of a three CD set featuring more wonderful, yet cynically skewed, pop songs as only Merritt (and a midi) can do 'em! 23 tracks.

Product Notes

From Stephin Merrit's Gay and Loud publishing comes the first volume of the Magnetic Fields' 69 Love Songs, a misleadingly quiet epic of a thing. From the layered feedback of "Don't Fall in Love with Me," followed by the plinky strum of his uke through to a Merrittian 23rd psalm, "The Things We Did," this volume, more than the others, hearkens back to the gloriously distorted acoustic agitation visited on The Charm of the Highway Strip. Ever the sad sack, Merritt's characters "don't believe in the sun" and drolly proclaim themselves "ugly" and the stars so "fucking romantic." Dishing up clich├ęs like ice cream cones at a Baskin-Robbins, Merritt's lyrics take on self-involved weightiness in the context of his over-the-top conventions. Marrying electronic elements with banjo, cello, mandolin, piano, accordian, and percussion, these little numbers--sung by a revolving cast of Merritt and cohorts--riff on everything from punk rock to madrigals to Jim Reeves and Johnny Cash-style balladry, coming across as preposterously vaudevillian and Brechtian, rather than vacuous. --Paige La Grone

Customer Reviews for "69 Love Songs 1 (CD)" by Magnetic Fields

There are no customer reviews yet. Be the first to write a review!

Submit your Review

Explore More Great Tower Sales & Specials

Tower.com Sales, Promotions & Special Features

Tower.com Sales & Boutiques

  • Tower Essentials Sale
    Visit the Essentials Sale for a wide selection and huge savings on your favorite music, DVD, Blu-ray and Books.
  • Great Gift Ideas
    Tower has Great Gift Ideas and Huge Savings on Your Favorite Music, CDs, DVDs, Books and More at Prices that Make Giving A Breeze!

Interact with Tower.com